ENDNOTES 
1.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§  11-37-8.3 (Definition of guilty of second degree child molestation sexual assault); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 11-37-8.4 (Penalty for second degree child molestation sexual assault). 
2.  Cf. State v. Shatney, 572 A. 2d 872 (R.I. 1990) (regarding evidence of illegal sexual contact supporting criminal conviction) and State 

v. Brown, 586 A. 2d 1085 (R.I. 1991) (evidence presented was at most an ambiguous touch subject to speculation as to its purpose not supporting criminal conviction). 
1.  R.I. Gen. Laws, § 11-37-8.5 (Identification of victims of child molestation sexual assault). 
2.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 23-8-1.1 (Consent to testing and treatment). Persons under eighteen (18) years of age may give legal consent for testing, examination, and/or treatment for any reportable communicable disease. 
3.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 23-4.6-1 (Consent to medical and surgical care). Any person aged sixteen (16) or over or married may consent to routine emergency medical or surgical care. A minor parent may consent to treatment of his or her child. 
4.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-5-3 (Treatment of minors – chemical abuse); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-5-4 (Treatment without parental consent). 
5.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 11-9-15 (Tattooing of minors). 
6.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 11-9-14 (Use of tobacco by minors). 
7.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 23-1-39 (c) (Tattooing and/or body piercing). 
8.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 28-3-3 (Issuance of limited permits for work by children). 
9.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 28-3-1 (Places and times where employment of children prohibited); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 28-3-11 (Hours of work for children). 
10.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 28-12-3 (Minimum wages); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 28-12-3.1 (Wage for minors). It also should be noted that the hourly minimum wage in Connecticut is $7.10 (effective January 1, 2004); Vermont is $6.75; Massachusetts is $6.75; Maine is $6.25; and New Hampshire is $5.15. 
11.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 28-3-6 (Certificates and permits kept by employer). 
12.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 16-19-5 (Inspection and reports of places of employment of minors – work certificates). 
13.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 28-3-3.2 (Revocation or suspension of permit). 
14.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 28-3-9 (Employment of minors in hazardous places or occupations). 
15.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 28-3-12 (Posting of hours and wage rates). 
16.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 28-3-15 (Penalty for violation of provisions as to hours). 
17.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 3-8-2 (Age restriction for bartenders); R. I. Gen. Laws,§ 3-8-3 (Suspension of license for employment of underage bartender); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 3-8-4 (Drinking by or hiring of underage persons). 
18.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 3-8-5 (Penalty for violations relating to underage persons); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 3-8-6 (Unlawful drinking and misrepresentation by underage persons – Identification cards for persons twenty–one and older). 
19.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 3-8-9 (Transportation of alcoholic beverages by underage persons). 
20.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 19-9-11 (Control of deposits by minors); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 19-9-17 (Charge-free savings accounts for minors). 
21.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 31-11-19 (Permitting youth under the age of 16 to drive). See also Berberian v. Petit, 118 R.I. 448, 374 A. 2d 791 (1977) (holding that the denial of an instruction permit to children under the age of sixteen (16) does not violate the Equal Protection Clause in the United States Constitution). 
22.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 31-10-6 (Graduated licensing for persons under the age of eighteen (18)). 
23.  R.I. Gen. Laws, § 31-10-6 (D) (iii)(Graduated licensing for person under the age of eighteen (18). 
24.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 31-10-7 (Temporary driver’s permit’– Persons over the age of eighteen (18). 
25.  R.I. Gen. Laws, § 31-47-1 to 31-47-19 (Motor Vehicle Reparation Act).  
26.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 31-33-3 (Application for registration); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 31-38-3 (Owners and drivers to comply with inspection laws). 
27.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-67 (Revocation or denial of motor vehicle operator’s license upon finding of delinquency or waywardness); 

R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-67.1 (Revocation of motor vehicle operator’s license for failure to make restitution). 

106. Military Selective Service Act, 50 App. U.S.C.A.§ 453 (a) (Registration). 

107. Military Selective Service Act, 50 App. U.S.C.A.§ 462 (Offenses and penalties). 

108. Military Selective Service Act, 50 App. 456(j) (Deferments and exemptions from training and service). 

109. Armed Forces, 10 U.S.C.A.§ 503 (b) (Compilation of directory information); 10 U.S.C.A.§ 503 (c) (B) (parents may submit request to an educational agency not to release student information without prior written consent). 

110. Uniform Boat Titling Act, R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 46-22.1-2 (23) (Definitions – vessel) and§ 46-22.1-2 (24) (Definitions – waters of the state). 

111. Personal Watercraft Safety Act, R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 46-27-1 (3) (Definitions- personal watercraft); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 46-27-2 (c) (Regulation of personal watercraft). 

112. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 46-22-9.2 (Flotation devices – children). 

113. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 46-22-12 (a) (Water skis and surfboards). 

114. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 46-27-2 (c) (Regulation of personal watercraft). 

115. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 31-10.1-6 (Passengers). 

116. R.I. Gen. Laws, § 31-19-2.1 (Helmets required on bicycle operators, bicycle passengers, skateboarders, roller skaters, inline skaters, and scooter riders, ages fifteen (15) and younger). 

It is hoped that this book will be used as a vehicle to answer many questions which teens have regarding their rights and laws in Rhode Island that affect them.  This document was published through a grant that was awarded to the Office of the Child Advocate by the Rhode Island Foundation.  We wish to gratefully acknowledge their support. 
Before crafting and researching this Handbook, the Office invited several representatives from the Rhode Island Family Court, Rhode Island Bar Association, Attorney General's Department, The American Civil Liberties Union, the Rhode Island Training School, school professionals, youth, private lawyers and advocates to help us identify fundamental legal issues, now developed and addressed in this Handbook. 
The sole purpose of this Handbook is to educate teens concerning the requirements of Rhode Island law in many areas that have the greatest impact on their lives.  We have attempted to simplify the law and address somewhat complicated legal issues in simple format and language for teens. 
The footnotes at the back of this publication reference sources of legal authority for the benefit of lawyers and other professionals who work with youth.  They may be asked to review the Handbook with youth in a variety of settings, including, but not limited to, classrooms, the Rhode Island Training School, youth civic groups, court sponsored programs, and after-school programs. We plan to have the Handbook available online on our website at www.child-advocate.state.ri.us. To further enhance the legal knowledge of youth about their own rights and the Rhode Island legal system, the handbook has recently been updated to address additional legal issues concerning Rhode Island’s youth. In addition, the legal authorities within the handbook have been updated. 
A very special thank you to Pamelee McFarland, Esquire, past Legal Counsel to the Office of the Child Advocate, for her diligence, competent legal research, writing, and legal expertise in making this Handbook a reality. 
Office of the Child Advocate State of Rhode Island 
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ENDNOTES 

56. Title IX, 20 U.S. C.§ 1681. See also, Gebseret v. Lago Vista Independent School District, 524 U.S. 357 (1998) (holding that a school district is liable for damages under Title IX for a teacher’s sexual harassment of a student, but only where the student can show that officials knew about the harassment and then chose to do nothing about it). See also Davis v. Monroe County Board of Education, 526 U.S. 629 (1999) (holding that a school district could be liable for damages where a student was harassed by another student if the student can show that the school acted with deliberate indifference to known acts of sexual harassment by a student against another student in programs and activities. The student must also show the the harassment was so severe, pervasive, and offensive that it prevented the student victim’s access to an educational opportunity or benefit). 

57. Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C.§ 1400 et seq. See also,–Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 42 U.S.C.§ 12101 et seq. 

58. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 16-24-1 (Duty of school committee to provide special education). 

59. For a general discussion of the right to representation at an IEP hearing, see The Rights of Students, American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Handbook for Young Americans, Chapter 3, Equal Protection (Puffin Books, 1997). 

60. West Virginia State Board of Education v. Barnett, 319 U.S. 624 (1943). 

61. Tinker v. Des Moines Independent Community School District, 393 U.S. 503 (1969) (school cannot forbid student arm band protesting Vietnam War as student has right to free speech on school premises). Cf. Melton v. Young (6th Cir.1972) (school can ban use of confederate flag on clothing that offends sense of racial injustice). 

62. Bethel School District No. 403 v. Fraser, 478 U.S. 675 (1986). 

63. Hazelwood School District v. Khulmeier, 484 U.S. 260 (1988). 

64. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 16-38-5 (Questionnaires invading privacy). 

65. Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), 20 U.S.C.§ 1232 (g). Congress amended this Act in 1974 by including the Buckley Amendment which guarantees the parents of students, and students who are over the age of eighteen (18) , or who are attending a post secondary school, the right to examine student records. Because many private institutions receive federal funding, state and local governments have the power to create regulations to also subject the private schools to the records disclosure requirements. Under the Buckley Amendment, a child can examine school records if the school agrees to grant access or if the student’s parents present a written request to the school. The school must promptly respond to such requests within a reasonable time after the request is made. The Rhode Island counterpart to federal law is found in R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 16-71-1 to 6 et seq (Educational Records Bill of Rights Act). 

66. See, Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act, 20 U.S.C.§ 1232 (g). See, also, R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 16-71-1 to 6 et seq (Educational Records Bill of Rights Act). 

67. There are several federal and state court cases reported throughout the country upholding the right of pregnant students to attend school and to participate in extracurricular activities, finding that pregnant students are protected from discrimination under the Equal Protection Clause of the United States Constitution. Rhode Island has established a comprehensive parenting and pregnancy program to respond to the numbers of pregnant adolescents who are at risk for not completing their education pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 40-191 to 3 et seq (Comprehensive Adolescent Pregnancy and Parenting Program). 

68. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 15-2-11 (Consent and procedure required for license to minors and persons under guardianship). 

69. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 23-13-20 (Coordination of community-based family life and sex education). Rhode Island’s legislature has specifically addressed maternal and youth health services. The General Assembly provided that the Director of Health is authorized to establish a family life and sex education program that coordinates community networks involved in youth health planning, particularly in those areas of Rhode Island experiencing high rates of teen age pregnancy, which are described as “epidemic.” It is believed that the epidemic is caused by deteriorating family life due to divorce, confusion between love and sex, and feelings of isolation and hopelessness. The legislative goal is to enhance personal competence and self-esteem in children and to improve parenting skills in sex education at home. The General Assembly has also directed state agencies to coordinate teen pregnancy prevention efforts pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 40-19.1-1 (Teen Pregnancy Prevention Partnership Act). 

70. See, generally, R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 23-13-20 (Coordination of community-based family life and sex education) (concerned with “epidemic” of teen pregnancy); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 23-13-21 (Comprehensive reproductive health services) (providing coverage for all indigent persons’ access to safe and effective methods of contraceptives). 


1.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-32 (Power of court to order disposition of child). 
2.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 15-7-5 (Consent required); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 15-7-6 (Waiver of parents’ right to consent-Guardianship). 
3.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 11-18-4 (Concealment of birth out of wedlock) (Concealing the death of an infant, whether the infant was born dead or alive, making it impossible to discover if the baby was murdered or not, is a misdemeanor). 
4.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 11-37-6 (Definition of guilt of third degree sexual assault); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 11-37-7 (Penalty for third degree sexual assault). 
5.  R.I. Gen. Laws,§  11-37-8.1 (Definition of guilt of first degree child molestation sexual assault); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 11-37-8.2 (Penalty for first degree child molestation sexual assault). State v. Collins, 543 A. 2d 641 (R.I. 1988) (finding that a defendant cannot argue that a thirteen year old consented to the sexual act as a defense to escape criminal liability). 
71. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 23-4.7-6 (Minors-parental consent-judicial proceedings). See also, Planned Parenthood of Southeastern Pennsylvania v. Casey, 510 U.S. 1309 (1992) (confirming that a minor can obtain judicial consent to have an abortion, without parental consent, if the minor convinces the judge that she is mature enough to make such a decision). 

VI. STUDENTS’ PRIVACY RIGHTS . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .20 
i 
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22. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-40 (Adjudication not having effect of conviction). 

23. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-3 (9) (Family Court Act – Definitions). 

24. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-11 (d) (Authorizing and filing petition). 

25. While the Family Court Act does not specifically define a status offense, as it does a delinquent, wayward, or dependent youth, the Family Court has the power to order a disposition of a juvenile status offense under R. I Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-32 (Power of court to order disposition of youth). 

26. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-38 (Insufficient evidence of waywardness or delinquency). 

27. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 16-19-1 (Attendance required). 

28. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 16-19-1(b) (Attendance required). 

29. The Truancy Court was not created by the General Assembly and therefore, does not have a statutory citation. Rather, the Truancy Court was created by the Family Court pursuant to its administrative authority under R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 8-10-14 (Family Court Act). 

30. The Drug Court was not created by the General Assembly and therefore, like the Truancy Court, does not have a statutory citation. The Drug Court was created by the Family Court pursuant to its administrative authority under R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 8-10-14 (Family Court Act). 

31. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-3 (6) (Family Court Act – Definitions). 

32. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 40-11-2(1) (Abused and Neglected Children – Definitions). 

33. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 40-11-2 (1) (vii) – (x) (Abused and Neglected Children – Definitions). 

34. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-34 (Placement of dependent and neglected children). 

35. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-11.1 (Commitment of voluntary placements); R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-32 (Power of court to order disposition of youth). 

36. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 42-72-15 (Children’s Bill of Rights). 

37. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 40-11-14 (Right to representation in court proceedings). 

38. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 12-25-16 to 30 (Criminal Injuries Compensation Act of 1996). 

39. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 12-25-22 (Limitations upon awarding compensation). 

40. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 12-15-19 (d) (1) and (2) (Awarding compensation). 

41. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 12-25-21 (Nature of compensation). 

42. R.I. Gen. Laws.§ 15-7.2-1 (2) (Passive Voluntary Adoption Mutual Consent Registry Act – [PVAMCR] – Definitions). 

43. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 15-7-14.1 (Decree of open adoption). 

44. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 15-7.2-2 (PVAMCR – Policy). 

45. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 15-7.2-3 (Adoption records to be permanently maintained). 

46. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 15-7.2-4 (Information – Confidential exceptions). 

47. Mallette v. Children’s Friend and Service, 661 A. 2d 67 (1995) (upholding trial court decision allowing adoptive parents to recover damages against adoption agency on theory of negligence for failure to inform adoptive parents of special needs of child they adopted recognizing that adopting parents “remain at the mercy of adoption agencies for information,” and holding agencies to a more careful standard of disclosure to assure the integrity of the adoption process). 

48. See, generally, Brown v. Board of Education, 347 U.S. 483 (1954) (establishing that states may not require separate schools for children of different races); Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975) (establishing that before a student can be separated from his or her school, there must be an opportunity to prove that he or she did not violate a school rule, or that such punishment would be unfair). See also, R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 16-24-1 to 18 et seq  (Children with Disabilities). 


49. See, generally, San Antonio Independent School District v. Rodriquez, 411 U.S. 1 (1973); and The Rights of Students, American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Handbook for Young Americans, (Puffin Books, 1997). 

50. McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act of 1987, 42 U.S. C.§ 11431 et seq, reauthorized in 2002, Title I, Part A of the No Youth Left Behind Act. In the 1960’s, Congress began to create legislation to improve educational outcomes for economically disadvantaged children. Under current federal law, once a child becomes homeless, and regardless of later state placements, all rights and benefits attach and remain during state placement. These rights include remaining in an original school district, being transported from that school to a new foster home, even if in another county or state, and not having to pay for meals, field trips, caps and gowns, or special education evaluations, to name few. The Rhode Island counterpart is found in R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 16-64-1 to 9 et seq (Residency of children for school purposes). 

51. Veronia School District v. Action, 515 U.S. 646 (1995). 
52. Earles v. Tecumesheh, 535 U.S. 403 (2002). 
53. New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325 (1985). 
54. Doe v. Renfrow, 451 U.S. 1022 (1981). 

55. Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565 (1975) (holding that it violates a student’s constitutional right to due process to be suspended from school without a fair hearing, held before the suspension or other discipline. There must be an opportunity to be heard by a neutral third party. Notice of the hearing is required). 
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ENDNOTES 

1. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-5 (Family Court Act). 

2. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 15-12-1 (a) (Age of majority). 

3. A youth is automatically emancipated at the age of eighteen (18) unless he or she has an illness or infirmity of body or mind that disables the youth from being able to care for him or herself. If the youth is infirm, the parents may remain economically responsible for their youth past the age of majority. See, Siravo v. Siravo, 42 A. 2d 1047 (R.I. 1981). The Siravo court relied on case law from other states recognizing that emancipation could occur before a youth reached the age of majority. 

4. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 3-8-6(a) (Unlawful drinking by underage persons); State v. Spivey, 114 R.I. 43, 328 A. 2d 414 (1974) (holding that a state can constitutionally prescribe specific age qualifications for jury members, despite the fact that an individual may be old enough to vote, but too young to sit on a jury, even though one can enter a binding contract at 18, or be eligible for military service, one must still wait until age 21 to sit on a jury). 

5. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-3 (5) (Family Court Act – Definitions). 

6. In re Richard P., 451 A. 2d 274 (R.I. 1982) (when legislature extended to 18 year olds the opportunity to enter a contract, it did not terminate the rehabilitative and commitment function of the Family Court when a youth turned eighteen (18). In accord, In re Jane Doe, 533 A. 2d 523 (R.I. 1987); In re Craig Price, 671 A 2d 797 (R.I. 1997). Also, R. I Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-6 (a). 

7. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-40 (Adjudication not having effect of conviction). 

8. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 11-41-20 (Shoplifting). 

9. In re Gault, 387 U.S. 1 (1967) (holding that state juvenile adjudication proceedings that may lead to juvenile’s commitment in a state institution must measure up to the constitutional standards of due process comparable to those afforded to adults, which include written notice of the charges to the juveniles and parent, the right to counsel, the privilege against self-incrimination, and sworn testimony with the opportunity to cross-examine witnesses. Also, right to counsel includes having one provided by the court if the juvenile is indigent. See, also, R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-31,§ 14-1-58. In 1995, the RI Child Advocate participated as amicus curiae in a successful challenge to a proposed administrative order restricting state funding for lawyers representing indigent children facing delinquency charges. The proposed administrative order would have violated the right to counsel guaranteed to children by the U.S. Supreme Court in In re Gault. 

10. See, generally, R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-49 (Fees for service of process or attendance in Family Court) and R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 12-20-3 et seq, (Fees in criminal cases before district court) Also, Super. Ct. Crim. Rule 28 and Dist. Ct. Crim. Rule 28. 

11. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-64 (Disposition of juvenile records). (See footnote 19 herein for additional discussion of court decisions relating to access to juvenile records). 

12. Schall v. Martin, 467 U.S. 253 (1984). The U.S. Supreme Court found that a New York law that allowed youth accused of delinquent offenses to be detained in state custody before their trials was permissible. Even if there was no way to predict whether the youth would commit another illegal act, the court said that society must be protected from the youth’s future possible misconduct during the days before trial on the charge leading to the arrest. Even before the Schall case, Rhode Island allowed pretrial detention of children while waiting for their cases to be heard.  See Morris v D’Amario, 416 A. 2d 137 (R.I. 1980), concluding that children were not entitled to pretrial bail hearings as adults are, reasoning that when the court grants custody of the youth to the state, it is placing him or her in the care of surrogate parents who exercise parental authority, not penal authority. The court said that juveniles seeking release pending adjudication were not situated like adults applying for bail pending trial because a youth does not have an absolute and full right to liberty as adults do. While the decision to detain a youth pending a hearing on charges against him or her is a discretionary judgment by the judge, the judge must articulate in writing the facts and reasons on which the decision to detain is based. 

13. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-20 and§ 14-1-21 (Release, placement, or detention of youth in custody of officer). 

14. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-23 (“suitable” requirement), and§ 14-1-26 (Separation from adult offenders). 

15. Morris v. D’Amario, 416 A. 2d 137 (R.I. 1980), R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 12-13-9 (Commitment of juveniles on failure to give recognizance). 

16. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-7 (Waiver of jurisdiction or certification hearing). 

17. McKeiver v. Pennsylvania, 403 U.S. 528 (1971) (concluding that a trial by jury is not constitutionally required in the adjudicative phase of a state juvenile delinquency proceeding reasoning that juvenile court proceedings are not criminal prosecutions). Until recently, there has been a strong policy against converting juvenile proceedings to a fully adversary process because it would effectively end what remains as an idealistic, intimate, informal proceeding. 

18. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-7 to 7.4 (Certification hearing, proof and effect). 

19. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 14-1-66 (Application by victim to obtain name of juvenile). See, also, In re Matter of Falstaff Brewing Corp., 637 

A. 2d 1047 (R.I. 1994) (holding that a victim of a crime by a juvenile could pursue a juvenile delinquent to recover money damages in a civil action). Later the same court decided Bouchard v. Price, 694 A. 2d 670 (R.I. 1997), which found that juveniles, like adults, are also prohibited from writing about and gaining profit from criminal acts under the Criminal Royalties Distribution Act. The Act was invalidated for other reasons, not important here, regarding its unconstitutional exercise of power by the state to regulate, otherwise protected free expression and speech. 

20. R.I. Gen. Laws,§ 11-37.1-1 – 11-37.1-19 (Sexual Offender Registration and Community Notification Act). 

21. The United States Sentencing Guidelines,§ 4A1.1, provides that, under certain circumstances, offenses committed as a juvenile prior to age eighteen (18) can be counted as a criminal history to increase sentencing for adult crimes. In U.S. v. DiPina, 230 F. 3d 477 (1st Cir. 2000), the First Circuit affirmed that juvenile offenses could increase sentencing for adult crimes. R.I. Gen. Laws, §14-1-40 (b) Any finding of delinquency that would constitute a felony if committed by an adult may be taken into consideration by the court during sentencing. 
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ARE CHILDREN PERMITTED TO RIDE AS PASSENGERS ON MOTOR CYCLES? 
AM I LEGALLY REQUIRED TO WEAR A HELMET TO RIDE A BICYCLE OR WHILE I AM SKATING OR SCOOTING? 
II. MOTORCYCLES/BICYCLES 
· Any passenger under the age of twelve (12) who rides as a passenger on a motorcycle or motor scooter must have a properly secured back-rest and must have his or her feet on a foot-rest. The child must be seated behind the operator unless a side car is provided. All passengers of motorcycles must wear a properly fitted helmet as approved by the DMV.115 
· Yes. Any child fifteen (15) years of age or younger who is operating, or who is a passenger on a bicycle, skateboard, roller-skates, scooter, or inline skates on a public highway, bicycle path, shared use path, recreational area or park, school property or any other public right of way must wear a helmet. The helmet must fit the child’s head and be secured by straps.116 
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INTRODUCTION: LEGAL TERMS YOU SHOULD KNOW 
WHAT IS THE ROLE OF THE RHODE ISLAND FAMILY COURT? 
Rhode Island first created a court for children in trouble in 1944, called Juvenile Court. In 1961, that court became the Rhode Island Family Court, which had jurisdiction (that is, the power to resolve) over disputes arising from all family relations, including child support, custody, visitation, divorce and other matters relating to minors under age twenty-one (21). In 1981, the law changed and the age for minority was lowered to eighteen (18), which means that now, after your eighteenth (18th) birthday, you are no longer subject to Family Court jurisdiction. However, if a youth is in state custody before age eighteen (18), the Family Court may under certain circumstances retain jurisdiction (power and control) until age twenty-one (21).1 
Family Court acts as a protector of children (Latin: parens patriae). The Family Court must not only provide for the needs of children, however, but must also balance the needs of the entire Rhode Island community, which includes your school, public places, and all of your family members. 
The Family Court also administers numerous Juvenile Hearing Boards representing most communities in Rhode Island that permit the diversion (or alternate placements) of juveniles accused of status offenses or wayward offenses (more on this later), which are less serious offenses than felonies. 
WHAT DOES IT MEAN TO BE A MINOR IN RHODE ISLAND? 
In Rhode Island, a youth is a person who has not reached the age of eighteen (18) and is also called a minor. The terms youth, minor, and juvenile refer to the same legal status and are interchangeable. All persons who have turned eighteen (18) are persons of full legal age. An adult is a person eighteen (18) years of age or older. 2 
WHAT IS AN EMANCIPATED YOUTH? 
Emancipation means that you are free from the custody and control of your parents and the state before your eighteenth birthday. There is no emancipation statute (law by legislation) in Rhode Island, however, a Family Court judge may declare in a court order that you are capable (mature enough) of emancipated status. This means that you will be treated as an adult in certain ways, such as you no longer need parental consent (permission) to get medical care, enter binding contracts, move to a new residence, apply for a work permit, enroll in a school, or get a driver’s license.3 
IF I BECOME EMANCIPATED, IS THERE ANYTHING I LEGALLY CANNOT DO? 
Yes. There are legal restrictions despite your obtaining a legal declaration of emancipated status before your eighteen (18th) birthday, such as not being allowed to purchase or drink alcohol, and not being allowed to serve on a jury, both of which require that you be twenty-one (21) years of age. 4 
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CHAPTER EIGHT 
 (
CHAPTER ONE
)			
OCEAN STATE YOUTH’S RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS WHILE PARTICIPATING IN WATER SPORTS, RIDING MOTORCYCLES, AND BIKING 
ISSUES RELATING TO JUVENILE DELINQUENCY WAYWARD AND TRUANCY OFFENSES 
I. TERMS 
WHAT DOES THE TERM JUVENILE DELINQUENT MEAN? 
IF I AM A DELINQUENT, AM I ALSO A FELON? 

Status offenses, disorderly conduct, and physical assaults constituted another one-third (1/3) of the offenses committed by youth. Status offenses are age-related acts that would not be punishable if the offender is an adult, such as truancy from school, violating curfew, or “disobedient conduct.” These are offenses unique to children. 
Offenses involving traffic violations, weapons or other harmful behaviors are other examples of misconduct, which will bring a youth to the attention of Family Court. A small number of offenses include false reporting of a crime, crank or obscene phone calls, and escapes from state custody. 
WHAT ARE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR MINORS WHO WISH TO OPERATE A WATER VESSEL? 
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WHEN AM I REQUIRED TO WEAR A FLOTATION DEVICE WHEN RIDING A VESSEL? 
WHAT ARE THE AGE AND OTHER REQUIREMENTS FOR USE OF A VESSEL FOR TOWING A PERSON ON WATER SKIS OR A SURFBOARD OR SIMILAR DEVICE? 
I. WATER SPORTS 
➘ 

     A vessel means every description of watercraft, other than a seaplane on the water, used or capable of being used as a means of transportation on our waters. Waters means any waters in the territorial limits of Rhode Island and the marginal sea next to Rhode Island, and the high seas when navigated as part of a journey to ride to or from the Rhode Island shores.
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State law requires that a personal watercraft must be operated at all times in a reasonable and prudent manner. Maneuvers which unreasonably or unnecessarily endanger life, liberty or property shall constitute reckless operation of a vehicle and are prohibited. 
Effective January 1, 2002, no person born after January 1, 1986, can operate a vessel fitted with propulsion machinery of more than ten (10) horsepower on the waters of Rhode Island, unless he or she has successfully completed a boating safety education program approved by the Director of the Department of Environmental Management.111 
· Any person transporting a child ten (10) years of age or under in a vessel less than twenty-six (26) feet in length on the waters of Rhode Island must assure that the child is wearing a personal flotation device approved by the United States Coast Guard.112 
· No person can operate a vessel on any waters in Rhode Island for towing other persons on water skis, or a surfboard, or similar device, unless there is in the vessel a person at least twelve (12) years of age, in addition to the operator, in a position to observe the progress of the persons being towed.113 
· 
If you are presently in the Rhode Island Training School (facility) where juvenile offenders are confined), or other state placement, turning eighteen (18) does not automatically allow you to be released from state custody. You may continue to be subject to the jurisdiction (power) of the Family Court, under certain circumstances, and held in state custody until you reach the age of twenty-one (21) 6

➘  A delinquent is any youth who has committed any offense, which if committed by an adult, would be a felony, or who more than once violated a law other than ordinances regulating the operation of motor vehicles.5

No. An adjudication (which means a court decision after evidence is heard) of delinquency is not a criminal conviction. A finding of delinquency (or waywardness which will be defined later) in a juvenile proceeding, is not a finding that the juvenile has committed a crime.7 

According to data compiled by Rhode Island Kids Count 2003 Factbook, there were less than 5,049 juveniles referred to Family Court for 9,348 wayward and delinquent offenses. Youth involved with use of illegal drugs are usually referred to the Juvenile Drug Court, a division of the Family Court. 
About one-third (1/3) of the youth committed property offenses, which would include theft, shoplifting, or destruction of another person’s property. There are, of course, more serious offenses that would include, for example, murder, rape, sexual assault, and robbery. 
WHAT ARE SOME EXAMPLES OF DELINQUENT ACTS, OR OTHER TYPES OF MISCONDUCT THAT CAN GET ME INTO TROUBLE WITH THE STATE? 
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There must also be a life preserver or other such device for a person being towed, and the activity must not be conducted between the hours from one 
(1) hour after sunset to one (1) hour before sunrise. 
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WHAT IS THE ROLE OF MY SCHOOL IN PROVIDING INFORMATION ABOUT ME TO THE SELECTIVE SERVICE? 
MUST I FIRST GIVE THEM PERMISSION TO SHARE ANY INFORMATION ABOUT ME WITH THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT BEFORE THEY CAN DISCLOSE IT? 
· Under the No Child Left Behind Act, signed into law in 2002, high schools are now required to provide “directory information” about you if you are male. Directory information includes your name, address, date and place of birth, as well as your phone numbers, to military recruiters. Schools that refuse to comply face losing federal education funding under the Elementary and Secondary Education Act. Military recruiters now have the same access to certain high school directory information that colleges currently have. The new law may be challenged in the future resulting in some possible changes in these requirements.109 
· As discussed in CHAPTER THREE, EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS OF CHILDREN, (Subchapter VI, Student Privacy Rights), of this Handbook, there is a provision in the law that allows your parents to opt out or prevent your school from sharing any information about you with the federal government. If you experience resistance from your school, contact the Rhode Island Chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union at (401) 8317171. 
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EXAMPLE: WHAT IS SHOPLIFTING? 
WHAT ARE THE RULES THAT THE POLICE MUST FOLLOW WHEN DEALING WITH ME, IF I AM SUSPECTED OF BREAKING A LAW? 
DO I HAVE A RIGHT TO CONFIDENTIALITY IN THE JUVENILE COURT PROCEEDINGS, AND WITH WHOM MAY INFORMATION ABOUT ME BE SHARED? 
➘ Shoplifting is stealing. It is the taking and carrying away of another’s property, specifically goods from a retail establishment. 
Goods are defined as any merchandise displayed, stored, or offered for sale by a store. To be guilty of shoplifting, you have to have intended to deprive the merchant of all or part of the full retail value. This behavior includes altering, transferring, or removing a label, price tag, or any other evidence of value with the intent to deprive the merchant of full or part of full retail value of the merchandise.8 
II. CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS OF YOUTH SUSPECTED OF JUVENILE MISCONDUCT WHEN CONFRONTED BY THE POLICE 
➘ Your constitutional rights arise when you are suspected by the police of breaking the law and the police begin to seek, search for, and collect (seize) evidence to prove your illegal acts. Children have rights under the United States Constitution that arise during arrest and the search and seizure of evidence by the police. 
You have the right to have the charges against you provided to you or served (put in your hand) and in writing within a reasonable time. You have the right to be told why you are being taken into custody. You have the right to have a lawyer represent you, and if you cannot afford to hire a lawyer, the court must provide one for you if you are likely to be incarcerated or placed in the Rhode Island Training School.9 
You have the right to expect your lawyer to be competent in the areas of law and procedure relevant to your case and you can tell the lawyer what you want. You have the right to an interpreter if you need one.10 
➘ Your juvenile record is not a public record. Newspaper reporters cannot read or use court records to get your name, print your photo, or read your court file if you are a minor. The idea of confidentiality of juvenile records exists so that you can enter adulthood with a clean slate after you have resolved the problems leading to your misconduct committed as a youth. 
All police records relating to your arrest, detention, and disposition must be kept in separate files apart from those of adults. Your records are not open to public inspection, unless there is a written order from Family Court authorizing their release. Your parents or guardian, and your attorney, have the right to copy your records. Victims of your misconduct, however, may be entitled to your full records. The press has the right to publish public information about you if they have obtained the relevant information from their own investigation using non-judicial sources. If you are waived, or certified by the Family Court to adult court (Rhode Island Superior Court), your records may then become public.11 
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AFTER I AM TAKEN INTO CUSTODY, ARE THERE ANY RESTRICTIONS ON WHERE I MAY BE HOUSED PENDING THE COURT’S DECISION (ADJUDICATION) REGARDING MY CASE? 
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WHAT HAPPENS IF I AM ORDERED BY THE RHODE ISLAND FAMILY COURT TO RESIDE IN THE RHODE ISLAND TRAINING SCHOOL AND WHAT ARE MY LEGAL RIGHTS DURING MY RESIDENCY THERE? 
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[At this point, you may wish to look at CHAPTERS THREE, FIVE, AND SEVEN for discussion of maintaining confidentiality of your past records and requests to disclose to prospective employers and those who register you for military service, (if you are male and required to do so when you reach age eighteen (18).] 
➘ You may be released after your arrest and before a hearing on the charges against you. It depends on the nature of the charges against you, particularly how violent your behavior is said (alleged) to have been. 
The Rhode Island courts follow the national wisdom that the principal concerns of the Family Court when determining the proper disposition of a youth pending a court decision (adjudication) of delinquency are the welfare of the youth, as well as the welfare of the community.12 
In Rhode Island, the arresting officer will first consider releasing a youth accused of a delinquent act to a parent or guardian. The Family Court, depending on the circumstances, may order that a youth immediately be confined in a place of detention.13 
Under Rhode Island law, the place of detention must be “suitable” and not directly connected with any adult jail or lockup. When a delinquent or wayward youth is in the custody of the state or detained while waiting for a hearing, the youth cannot be confined in any prison, jail, or training school with adjudicated youth, or be transported with, or compelled or permitted to associate or mingle with, any criminal or vicious person. 14 In Rhode Island, male non-adjudicated youth are confined to a separate detention center. 
➘ The Rhode Island Training School for Youth is a locked facility for juvenile delinquents. 
In October 2002, The Rhode Island Division of Juvenile Corrections published a Resident’s Handbook, in compliance with a Federal Court order concerned with children’s rights. The Handbook outlines the legal rights of residents and must be made available to you. If you are having difficulty obtaining a copy, you may the call the Office of Child Advocate at 222-6650 for assistance. 
Basic rights include your housing conditions, ability to communicate with your attorney and others concerned with your welfare, education and health services needs, to name a few, and are described more fully in the Handbook. You have the right to attend religious services and to be free from sexual harassment. If you ever feel that you are not being treated properly, you should first and always contact your attorney who can advise you on how best to quickly resolve any difficulties. 

CHAPTER SEVEN REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS FOR THE UNITED STATES MILITARY SERVICES 
WHAT IS MILITARY REGISTRATION? 
WHO MUST REGISTER? 
DOES REGISTRATION MEAN THAT I WILL BE DRAFTED INTO THE MILITARY SERVICES? 
WHAT WILL HAPPEN TO ME IF I FAIL TO REGISTER FOR THE MILITARY SERVICES? 
HOW DO I APPLY FOR CONSCIENTIOUS OBJECTOR STATUS TO AVOID BEING DRAFTED BASED ON MY RELIGIOUS BELIEFS? 
HOW DO I COMPLY WITH THE LAW AND REGISTER FOR THE MILITARY SERVICE? 
· Selective Service registration is the process by which the U.S. government collects names and address of males who are between the ages of eighteen (18) and twenty-five (25) yeas of age. If there should be a national emergency, which requires rapid expansion of the Armed Forces, it is that list that would be used to call upon men to serve in the military. 
· All male United States citizens and male immigrant aliens residing in the United States and its territories must register if they are eighteen (18) to twenty-five (25) years of age. All male citizens and male immigrant aliens residing in the U.S. must register within thirty (30) days of their eighteenth (18th) birthday.106 
· No one has been drafted into the military service since 1973. No one can be drafted into the military unless ordered by our Congress and the President of the United States. If there was a declared war or national emergency, a draft could occur. While there is some movement to change this, as the law stands now, only males, and not females, must register and remain eligible to serve in the military services. 
· If you fail to register you could be convicted of the crime of failure to register, which is a felony. You could be fined up to two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000) or imprisoned for up to five (5) years, or both. You could also permanently forfeit your eligibility for benefits such as student financial aid, government employment, job training, and U.S. citizenship for male immigrants.107 
· A person must apply for conscientious objector status. A conscientious objector is a person who can prove that his sincere religious beliefs prevent him from bearing arms because to do so would violate his religious opposition to war. It can be a lengthy process that involves interviews with you, essays written by you, and character witness letters about you. If approved by the military, you can be discharged from the military or reassigned to a non-combat position. 108 
· Registration can be completed online through the Internet at www.sss.gov. If you are concerned about the privacy of your personal data that must be revealed during the registration process, you can register by mail after obtaining the form from the U.S. Post Office. Within ninety (90) days of registering, you should receive in the mail an acknowledgment card. You should safeguard this document, as it is your best proof that you registered. 
· You can call 1-888-655-1825 for further information. You must always let the Selective Service know of your address changes within ten (10) days of any move, so you can be reached without delay. 


WHAT DO I NEED TO KNOW ABOUT CAR OWNERSHIP IF I AM ABLE TO BUY MY OWN CAR? 
CAN THE STATE DENY MY APPLICATION FOR OR REVOKE (TAKE AWAY) MY LICENSE IF I AM ADJUDICATED (COURT DETERMINED) A DELINQUENT OR WAYWARD YOUTH? 
the United States); 2.) Signature documents (Social Security card, work, or school ID); and 3.) Proof of Residency documents (for minors this could include your school records or a parent’s license with the same address as yours). 
Obviously, you must have passed the driver’s education program and satisfied other licensing requirements to qualify for a car insurance policy. 
· You must register your car with the DMV and have proof of your insurance policy to register your car. You must have your car inspected for safety purposes. A sticker will be placed on your car to prove that it has been inspected by a state authorized inspector. Fees for inspections vary with the type of car you own.104 
· Yes. If you are found by the Family Court to be delinquent or wayward, as previously discussed in this Handbook in CHAPTER ONE, the court can send to the DMV within twenty-four (24) hours of the determination of delinquency or waywardness, an order denying or revoking your driving privileges. You may also be required to perform up to one hundred (100) hours of community service. You may also be ordered to make restitution (that is, payment of money), to the victim and to the state of Rhode Island. If you fail to make court ordered restitution, ordered as a result of that adjudication, the court may command DMV to revoke your license until you have completed the requirements of the restitution order.105 

Regarding your operating privileges of boats, vessels, or other watercraft, see CHAPTER EIGHT of this Handbook. 
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DO I HAVE A CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO BAIL PENDING DELINQUENCY PROCEEDINGS SINCE THAT IS A RIGHT GUARANTEED TO ADULTS? 
WHAT IS A JUDICIAL WAIVER FROM FAMILY COURT TO ADULT OR SUPERIOR COURT IN RHODE ISLAND? 
DO I HAVE THE RIGHT TO A JURY TRIAL IN A JUVENILE DELINQUENCY PROCEEDING? 
WHAT IS CERTIFICATION? 
· No. Rhode Island follows the federal rule which states that the right to bail guaranteed by the United States Constitution, available to adults who are imprisoned, is not available to juveniles being held pending delinquency proceedings. The court reasoned that juveniles are not “detained” (meaning held in legal and physical custody) as adults are. The court’s view is that because a youth is in state custody with the state acting as surrogate (a substitute) parent, it is not penal, or a punishing type of custody, as it is for adults and therefore, the right to bail guaranteed to adults is inapplicable to the Family Court decision to detain (confine) a juvenile.15 
· The Family Court continues to have jurisdiction (power) over you if you are under eighteen (18) years of age and are charged with delinquency. This jurisdiction or power ends, however, if you are charged with an offense, which would be punishable by life imprisonment if you had committed that act as an adult, or if you are over the age of sixteen (16) and are charged with an offense that would be a felony, if committed by an adult.16 Waiver at any age is dependent upon the findings of the Family Court regarding rehabilitation and the seriousness of the crime.  If you are waived out of (that is, removed from) the control of Family Court, your case will be assigned and tried in adult court. 
· No. The Sixth Amendment right to trial by jury is not available in juvenile proceedings. The United States Supreme Court decided this issue in 1971 and there has been no change in the law. If you are waived to stand trial as an adult, you have the right to a jury trial as does any adult in the same situation.17 
· Certification is a process (up to age 21) by which the Family Court may sentence a child of any age to the maximum penalty for an offense, to be served in the Rhode Island Training School, while the offender remains a juvenile, followed by transfer to an adult facility, if deemed appropriate by a Family Court Judge.  There must be a hearing before certification can occur. The court must determine if the public can be protected only by removing you from society.18 
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IF I AM FOUND BY A COURT DECISION (ADJUDICATION) TO BE DELINQUENT, CAN I ALSO BE SUED IN A CIVIL ACTION AND BE MADE TO PAY MONEY DAMAGES? 
[image: ]
· Yes. Crime victims may recover against a juvenile offender in a civil action for money damages. This recovery may be in addition to a court order that the juvenile make restitution (which also means to pay money damages) to compensate the victim for the harm inflicted. Rhode Island allows crime victims to obtain your juvenile records that are otherwise confidential, to prepare their case against you. Your parents may also be financially liable in a civil action filed by those you harm.19 
· Yes. In Rhode Island, if you have been declared by a court (adjudicated) to be a juvenile sexual offender, you must register (sign in) in person with the local law enforcement agency in the city or town where you reside (live). This requirement remains for fifteen (15) years after your release from confinement or community placement. You must verify your address every three (3) months during that fifteen (15) year period. The court has the discretion to order you to register for as long as the court decides it is necessary. Discretion means that the judge has flexibility in making a decision that can fit the individual case as the judge sees it. The judge must decide how to protect the community and at the same time rehabilitate you.20 
· There remains disagreement in this area. Currently, a trial judge in adult court cannot increase a sentence by use of your previous juvenile record unless you have been convicted of delinquency for acts that would be a felony if you were an adult.21 Under Rhode Island law, Training School records can be shared with the Adult Correctional Institute, if you are imprisoned. 

The Rhode Island General Assembly has made clear that a court decision (adjudication) of delinquency is not a criminal conviction. It shall not operate to disqualify you from any future civil service (state government employment) application examination or appointment. The disposition (which means final decision) of a youth and any evidence given in the Family Court shall not be admissible as evidence against that youth in any case or proceeding or any other court.22 
III. WHAT DOES IT MEAN TO BE ADJUDICATED A WAYWARD YOUTH? 
A youth is wayward who leaves or abandons his or her home without sufficient cause; or who associates with immoral persons; or is habitually disobedient of the reasonable and lawful commands of parents or other lawful custodians; or who is habitually absent from school or habitually violates school rules; or who violates a law other than an ordinance regulating the operation of motor vehicles.23 

IF I AM A JUVENILE SEXUAL OFFENDER, DO I HAVE TO REGISTER? 
IF I AM LATER CONVICTED OF A CRIME WHEN I AM AN ADULT, CAN THE JUDGE USE A PREVIOUS COURT DETERMINATION (ADJUDICATION) OF MY DELINQUENT PAST, TO INCREASE THE SENTENCE OF A LATER ADULT CRIME? 


CHAPTER SIX LEGAL CONCERNS OF TEENS OPERATING 
WHEN CAN I APPLY FOR A LIMITED INSTRUCTION DRIVER’S PERMIT, COMMONLY REFERRED TO AS A LEARNER’S PERMIT, TO LEGALLY OPERATE A MOTOR VEHICLE? 
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HOW DO I OBTAIN COVERAGE UNDER AN AUTO INSURANCE POLICY AS A MINOR WHO OTHERWISE DOES NOT HAVE THE LEGAL ABILITY TO ENTER A BINDING CONTRACT WITH A THIRD PARTY? 

MOTOR VEHICLES 
➘ 


While some states allow you to apply for a learner’s permit when you are fifteen (15), in Rhode Island, you must be sixteen (16) years of age to be an applicant. Courts have found that not allowing people under the age of sixteen (16) to drive a car does NOT violate any constitutional laws prohibiting age discriminatory treatment by the government.
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Anyone between the ages of sixteen (16) and eighteen (18) may apply to the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a limited instruction permit. After you have completed a state approved driver’s education instructional program and passed an exam testing you on your driving skills, you may be granted a permit. Driving is considered a legal privilege and not a legal right. You must obey the rules, once you receive your permit that you will only drive with a supervising driver seated beside you in the front seat of the car while it is in motion.100 
After you have held a limited instruction permit for six (6) months, you may obtain a limited provisional license if you have not been convicted of a motor vehicle moving violation or seat belt infraction during those six (6) months and you have passed the road test. The General Assembly recently amended the law to also include a night driving requirement. A person under the age of eighteen (18) seeking a provisional license must also produce a statement signed by a parent or guardian that the applicant has fifty (50) hours of experience, with ten (10) of those hours at night, driving with a supervising driver.101 
When you are seventeen (17) years of age, you may apply for a full operator’s license if you have held a limited instructional and a provisional license for twelve (12) months, or six (6) months each. If you have already reached your eighteen (18th) birthday, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) may provide you with a temporary driver’s permit which allows you to operate a car while the DMV is completing its investigation and determination of facts regarding your qualifications for a full operator’s license.102 
➘ Rhode Island requires that you have insurance coverage. It is mandatory (required) and is not a choice or option. You must be able to prove that you are responsible for the economic costs of injuries if you are in a car accident. You can be added as an insured driver under your parents’ household policy if you are living with your parents. An adult can also co-sign your application for car insurance and serve as a guarantor for your own policy. If you need your own insurance policy, you must obtain an identification (ID) card from the DMV, as well as provide your Social Security number, a birth certificate, and ten dollars ($10.00).103 
In 2003, new rules for all applicants were added. The DMV changed identification requirements for new driver’s licenses requiring that all applicants must provide one (1) document from each of three (3) categories: 1.) Identity documents (such as a birth or baptismal certificate from a church in 
DOES THIS MEAN THAT I CAN LEGALLY SERVE ALCOHOL, BETWEEN THE AGES OF 18-21, BUT THAT I CANNOT LEGALLY CONSUME ANY ALCOHOL UNTIL I REACH MY 21ST BIRTHDAY? 
WHAT IS THE PENALTY FOR TRANSPORTING ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES BY UNDERAGE PERSONS? 
CAN I GO TO THE BANK WITH MY EARNINGS AND OPEN AN ACCOUNT EVEN THOUGH I AM A MINOR AND CANNOT ENTER CONTRACTS? 
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· Yes. It seems contradictory, but that is the law. The underage bartender may not even take a tiny sip of what he or she may serve to adults. You can serve it and you can hold it, but you cannot drink it. The situation is similar to the one noted in the section of this handbook on tobacco use by minors. A minor employed by a licensed tobacco retailer can sell it as a store clerk, but cannot take a puff. You can serve alcohol as a bartender, but don’t even think about taking a sip. 
· 
➘ Any person who has not reached their twenty-first (21st) birthday and who operates a motor vehicle on public highways, without a parent or guardian, and has alcoholic beverages, opened or unopened, in any part of the vehicle, will have their operator’s license suspended and will lose the right to operate a motor vehicle for not more than thirty (30) days. 

It should be noted that this rule does not apply to persons who are transporting unopened alcoholic beverages in the course of their employment. You may transport unopened containers of alcoholic beverages if you are doing so in the course of your employment and you are between the ages of sixteen (16) and twenty-one (21).97 This, of course, assumes that you have a valid driver’s license. 
· Minors may make a deposit in any regulated bank including transferring, withdrawing, or accruing interest, unless under guardianship. 

Every regulated banking institution in Rhode Island must provide a charge-free savings account for children under the age of seventeen (17), unless the account has a balance of more than five hundred dollars ($500.00).98 
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CAN THE FAMILY COURT DECIDE THAT I AM A WAYWARD YOUTH BASED ONLY ON A PETITON THAT I AM DISOBEDIENT? 
WHAT IS A STATUS OFFENSE? 
IF THERE IS NOT ENOUGH EVIDENCE TO PROVE THAT I AM EITHER DELINQUENT OR WAYWARD, WHAT IS MY STATUS? 
WHAT IS TRUANCY? 
WHAT IS THE TRUANCY COURT? 
WHAT IS THE DRUG COURT? 
· No. A petition stating or alleging that you are wayward just because you exhibit “disobedient behavior” is not enough for the Family Court to assume jurisdiction (power and control) over you. There must also be proof offered in the petition that you have had an evaluation (called a needs assessment) at a facility approved by the Department of Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF), and that a treatment plan was crafted for you to help you in improving your behavior, but was unsuccessful. You must be given a chance to become more aware of the effect your behaviors have on others and be given an opportunity to change and improve.24 

· Status offenses are age-related acts; that is, acts that would not be punished if the offender is an adult. Examples of status offenses include truancy from school, violating a curfew, or disobedient conduct.25 

· If after a hearing on any petition in the case of a wayward or delinquent youth, the Family Court finds that there is not sufficient evidence to support it, the judge shall declare that you are not a delinquent or wayward youth, and you will be discharged from the jurisdiction (power and control) of the Family Court.26 In short, your case will be dismissed. 
➘ Truancy is what is commonly referred to as skipping school. Rhode Island, like all states, has compulsory (that is, required) school attendance laws. Children are legally required to attend school, unless their parent or guardian has provided school staff with a valid excuse for their absence. Children who miss school and do not have a valid excuse are truant. Truancy officers are required to investigate cases where violations of the compulsory attendance laws have occurred. Parents may be criminally prosecuted, fined, and imprisoned for violating this law.27 


Cities and towns are encouraged to create programs for early intervention or mediation to address problems of students who are habitually late or absent from school.28 

· Truancy courts are located inside certain public schools in Rhode Island and have the authority to hold truant students and their families accountable for violations of compulsory school attendance laws. A magistrate hears the cases at a local junior high or high school on a weekly basis. To be eligible, you must be in grades 6-12 and have a history of repeated truancies, or unexcused absences from school.29 

· Drug Court is available for nonviolent juvenile offenders who suffer from alcohol and/or drug abuse problems. It is a voluntary program and is based on referrals to the Family Court after the current charges, prior nonviolent wayward/delinquent history, and other background information 
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are reviewed. This system applies to juvenile offenders between the ages of  thirteen (13) and seventeen (17) who are charged with alcohol and /or drug offenses in Providence and Bristol Counties. A prior court determination (adjudication) involving violence or pending delinquent charges involving violence will make you ineligible for Drug Court.30 
IV.MORE ON WHAT TO EXPECT FROM COURT PROCEDURES IF YOU ARE FOUND TO BE DELINQUENT, WAYWARD, OR ARE OTHERWISE BEFORE THE FAMILY COURT 

HOW DO I FIND OUT ABOUT REGULATIONS THAT APPLY TO MY WORK CONDITIONS IN MY WORK PLACE? 
WHAT HAPPENS TO EMPLOYERS WHO VIOLATE CHILD LABOR LAWS? 
WHEN CAN I WORK AS A BARTENDER? 
WHEN CAN I LEGALLY CONSUME ALCOHOL? 
under sixteen (16) years of age. Rhode Island has likewise identified numerous types of work activities as too dangerous for minors. Some examples of the many that have been identified include: using band saws, planers, wood polishing machinery, paper lace machines, power punches, shears, drop presses, laundering or dry cleaning machinery, and paint manufacturing. 
Federal rules prohibit people under eighteen (18) from many hazardous jobs, including mining, sawmill work, logging, or working in meat packing factories or places where animals are slaughtered. Federal law prohibits children under eighteen (18) from using mechanized or powered equipment such as power saws, box crushers, baking machines, or meat slicing machines. The federal and state laws protecting children work together.92 
· Rhode Island requires that every employer post in one or more places where it can easily be read by all employees, a printed notice stating the minimum rates of pay, including hourly rates or piece rates. The rule must be posted explaining that the employment of any minor for a longer time than the law allows is a violation of state law.93 
· 
➘ Parents and employers who violate the law shall be fined a minimum of twenty dollars ($20.00) for each offense. An employer who illegally employs a youth under the age of sixteen (16), or makes a false statement regarding a certificate, is guilty of a misdemeanor and can be fined a minimum of five hundred dollars ($500.00).94 

For example, in August of 2002, five (5) Rhode Island supermarkets were found to have violated federal child labor laws. Eighteen (18) minors were found to have operated power-driven cardboard balers, machines used to compress cardboard scrap which was against the law prohibiting minors from using such machinery. This case was pending at the time of this writing. In these cases, it is the employer who is charged with wrongdoing, not the youth. 
· No person under the age of eighteen (18) may act as a bartender for the purposes of mixing, preparing, serving, or selling alcohol from a bar licensed to sell alcoholic beverages. A bar owner will lose the license to sell alcoholic beverages, or the license may be suspended, for violating this prohibition against employment of an underage bartender.95 
· You may not consume alcohol until you reach the age of twenty-one (21). It is unlawful for any person who has not reached his or her twenty-first (21st) birthday to enter the premises of any licensed seller of alcoholic beverages for the purpose of purchasing, or having served or delivered to him or her, alcoholic beverages.96 
· Once you are in state custody, a petition is filed that begins your case in Family Court. 
· A petition is a document filed in the Family Court by someone who believes that you have committed a delinquent act or a wayward act or are neglected/abused. It tells the reasons why you should be taken into or remain in state custody. The petition states facts about you such as your name, date of birth, address, and name of your parents or guardians. After the petition is filed, a hearing date is set. 
· A hearing is a private, confidential, and informal meeting in court with a judge to decide what, if any, services you require, or whether you are delinquent, wayward, or neglected/abused. There are different types of hearings. For example, there must be a detention hearing no more than 72 hours after you have been taken to the Training School on suspicion of committing a delinquent act. The judge will then decide whether to let you go home or will schedule a hearing to listen to more evidence involving you. It is important at this time that you communicate with your attorney. 
· A disposition hearing occurs after the judge finds that you have committed the offense charged, or are otherwise in need of court supervision. At a disposition hearing, the judge decides whether to place you under the supervision of the Department of Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF), allow you to remain at home, place you in out-of-home care, sentence you to the Training School, or another type of community placement. The court can place you in the Training School until your twenty-first (21st) birthday. 
· In some cases, the court may set a hearing date to review your progress and performance while you are on probation, in a community placement, or at the Training School. 
IF I AM BROUGHT BEFORE THE FAMILY COURT FOR VIOLATING THE LAW, WHAT SHOULD I EXPECT? 
WHAT IS A PETITION? 
WHAT IS A HEARING? 
WHAT IS A DISPOSITION HEARING? 
WHAT IS A REVIEW HEARING? 
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HOW DOES THE GOVERNMENT CHECK UP ON YOUTH LABOR LAWS? 
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ten thousand (10,000) workers in our state are earning the minimum wage or slightly above it. It is reported that another sixteen thousand (16,000) workers earn less than the minimum wage. 
Every minor who works more than twenty-four (24) hours in any week must be paid for all hours worked in that week at the adult rate of the minimum wage.88 
➘ 

All employers are required to keep certificates of age and permits qualifying children for employment at the place where the youth is employed. These documents must be available on demand. Failure to maintain the required documents is a misdemeanor for which a fine between ten dollars ($10.00) and fifty dollars ($50.00) may be imposed on the employer.

The Wage and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor investigates violations of the hourly limits imposed by the federal government. 
Whenever any truant officer has reason to doubt that any youth employed in any factory, mechanical, manufacturing, or business establishment has reached the age of sixteen (16) years, the truant officer shall demand that the youth’s employer furnish him or her in ten (10) days a certificate of age issued by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.90 
· If an employer refuses or fails to produce the certificate of age, the employer can be convicted of a misdemeanor and fined twenty dollars ($20.00). 
· Yes. The permit of any youth may be revoked or suspended by the school district, which issued it, if the principal of the school recommends it. If the work permit appears to be harmful to the academic success or general well-being of the student, or the student has failed to comply with school attendance requirements, the youth can lose the work permit. A youth is entitled to written notice and a hearing before the school committee can revoke or suspend the work permit it issued. The hearing must be closed and private.91 
· According to the Youth Labor Coalition, five hundred (500) children are injured in the workplace every day. Forty percent (40%) of teenagers who died on the job were performing tasks prohibited by law due to their ages. Most deaths of children under age fifteen (15) occur in agriculture related jobs, such as tractor rollovers and family businesses.  According to another study, seventy-three (73) teens were killed at work in 2000. Of the two hundred thousand (200,000) teenagers under the age of eighteen (18) who are injured on jobs each year, seventy thousand (70,000) to one hundred thousand (100,000) required emergency room treatment. 

The Department of Labor and Training is empowered to declare any particular work, occupation, trade, place, or process too dangerous for minors 

CHAPTER TWO STATE CUSTODY OF A YOUTH DUE TO DEPENDENCY, NEGLECT AND/OR ABUSE 
WHAT DOES IT MEAN TO BE IN DCYF CARE AFTER I AM REMOVED FROM MY HOME? 
WHAT IS A DEPENDENT CHILD? 
WHAT CONSTITUTES NEGLECT? 
WHAT IS ABUSE? 
WHAT IS SEXUAL ABUSE? 
WHAT IS INCEST? 
IS THERE SUCH A THING AS EMOTIONAL ABUSE? 
· The Rhode Island Department of Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF) is a state agency funded by the legislature to provide placements for children who are unable to live with their parents for a variety of reasons that have been discussed in this Handbook. 
· A dependent child means any child or youth who needs protection and assistance from the Family Court because his or her physical or mental health or welfare is harmed, or threatened with harm, due to the inability of the parent or guardian, through no fault of their own, to provide a minimum degree of care and proper supervision for the child. 
· A neglected youth is one who requires the protection and assistance of the Family Court because the parents or guardian have failed to supply the youth with adequate care or abandons the youth.31 
· Physical abuse of a minor child may begin by an act of punishment or discipline that an adult thinks is necessary to reduce misconduct by the child. It becomes illegal abuse when it becomes an out of control act including violent shaking, slapping, pinching, biting, punching or hair pulling that results in physical injury to the child. Evidence of physical abuse can include bruises, broken bones, injuries, and death. 32 
· Sexual abuse is the illegal touching of your body by an adult who may be a family member, adult friend, or anyone who makes you feel uncomfortable. No one has the right to touch you. You have an absolute right to tell a person trying to touch you that NO, they may not touch you. This conduct can result in criminal sexual assault and rape charges against the adult. You may also be protected by the state, which will step in and remove you from an unsafe home, if your parents fail to protect you from a sexual predator. 33 
· Incest is the attempt to have sexual intercourse or other sexual contact between you and a blood relative. It is a crime that is underreported because the victim feels ashamed to tell someone. It is important that you do not keep incest a secret, but talk to any adult whom you trust and report the relative who is engaging in such criminal behavior. 
Yes. Emotional abuse can include name calling, screaming and yelling, or a pattern of ignoring you with the result that you feel badly about yourself most of the time. It is very difficult to define as it may or may not be intentional. Sometimes adults simply need to be educated about the emotional consequences of their behavior, even if they think that their reasons are appropriate. Other times the adult has serious emotional problems leading to emotionally abusive behavior and it is in your best interests to be removed from the place where that adult resides if there is a serious risk of harm if you remain. 
WHAT HAPPENS TO AN EMPLOYER WHO CANNOT PROVE A YOUTH’S LEGALLY EMPLOYABLE AGE? 
ARE THERE WAYS IN WHICH A YOUTH EMPLOYEE CAN LOSE THEIR WORK PERMIT, OR HAVE IT TAKEN AWAY? 
WHAT ARE THE GOVERNMENTAL RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR TEEN EMPLOYEES REGARDING TEEN SAFETY? 

WHAT IS A CASE PLAN? 
WHAT HAPPENS IF MY PARENTS DO NOT FOLLOW THE CASE PLAN? 
WHAT IS OUT-OF-HOME CARE? 
WHAT IS AN INDEPENDENT LIVING PROGRAM (ILP)? 
WHAT IS TRANSITIONAL HOUSING? 
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· A case plan is a written document that defines what you and your family will need to do to solve the problems that led to your removal from your home. DCYF is required to have a case plan for you within thirty (30) days of your removal from your home. The case plan must describe the long term goal for your welfare, type of foster care you will be assigned, what services are helpful to you and a statement of why those services are appropriate for you and your family, a visitation schedule for your parents and siblings, and a transitional independent living plan if you are sixteen (16) years of age or older, as will be discussed later. 
· A parent’s failure to follow a case plan could result in a parent’s loss or termination of parental rights. Parental rights are terminated after evidence is heard and a court has made a final determination. You would then be placed in foster care or other appropriate placement until a permanent home is arranged. Children whose biological parents’ rights have been terminated are available for adoption by other families. If you are over the age of fourteen (14), you would have to consent to an adoption before it is granted. 
· If you are removed from your home by the state through DCYF because you are being abused or neglected, or your parents are otherwise unable to take care of you, you will be placed in foster care or with a relative, if appropriate. Foster care may also include a shelter, group home, or residential placement if you are not able to live with a family member or foster family. A foster home is designed to provide a family setting. A group home is a residence where you live with other children. Kinship care is a home with relatives other than your parents. 
· An Independent Living Program is a program specifically designed to help you develop the skills you need to live independently. It is offered to youth sixteen (16) years of age and older who are in out-of-home care. The program is described in a written transitional independent living plan, which is part of your case plan. It includes life skills training and connects you to a community support system to help meet your individual needs. 
· Transitional housing is a type of housing available to youth who are between the ages of sixteen (16) and twenty-one (21) who are seeking to achieve independence. This type of housing may include community-based apartments that are supervised by private agencies and are funded by DCYF. If you require more intensive supervision, you could be placed in an apartment where staff are available on a full-time basis. 



CHAPTER FIVE CHILDREN ENTERING THE WORKPLACE AND EMPLOYMENT RIGHTS OF CHILDREN 
HOW OLD DO I HAVE TO BE TO APPLY FOR A WORK PERMIT? 
WHAT HOURS MAY I WORK WHEN I AM PERMITTED TO DO SO? 
HOW DO THE MINIMUM WAGE LAWS AFFECT ME AS A YOUTH? 

➘ The school committee of each town or city may issue a special limited permit to work for any youth who is fourteen (14) years of age, to work on days when their school is not in session, but not for employment in factories or in mechanical or manufacturing establishments. The permit may be obtained from the Department of Labor and Training. 

It should be noted that no youth under the age of fourteen (14) shall be employed or permitted to work at any time in any business or industrial establishment in Rhode Island.86 
· A youth who has reached a fourteenth (14th) birthday, but has not reached a sixteenth (16th) birthday may be employed only between 6 a.m. and 7 p.m.  An exception to this prohibition is that during school vacations, a youth who has reached their fourteen (14th) birthday, but not a sixteenth (16th) birthday, may be employed until 9 p.m. 
(At the time of this writing, the U.S. Department of Labor, Wage and Hour Division, is charging violations of federal labor laws in Federal Court in a lawsuit against two (2) Rhode Island business persons and six (6) of their restaurants. The employer defendants employed children who were fourteen 14) and fifteen (15) years old and allegedly allowed them to work more than three hours during school days. The children were also required to work after 7 p.m. on school days.  

➘ In Rhode Island, every employer is required to pay his or her adult employees the minimum wage which until recently was six dollars and fifteen cents ($6.15) per hour; however, minors aged fourteen (14) and fifteen (15) may legally be paid less than the minimum wage, but not less than seventy-five percent (75%) of the minimum wage. The reasoning underlying this lesser amount was to provide an economic incentive, that is, to encourage employers to hire younger or teen workers. The goal is to assure younger workers a start in the work force. It is difficult for teens to find employment, particularly when the economy is generally bad and adults are losing their jobs. There is a notion that it may take more time or be more difficult to supervise young workers and therefore, it is believed that reducing the wages to attract employers would reduce teen unemployment. 
Under federal law, children who are fourteen (14) and fifteen (15) years of age cannot work more than three (3) hours a day during school days and eighteen (18) hours a week during school weeks. When school is out, they are limited to eight (8) hour days and forty (40) hour weeks. Minors cannot work before 7 a.m. or after 7 p.m., except from June 1 through Labor Day, when they may work until 9 p.m.87 

Effective January 1, 2004, the minimum wage was increased to six dollars and seventy-five cents ($6.75). This is the first increase in the minimum wage in three (3) years. According to the Federal Bureau of Labor Statistics, about 
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AT WHAT AGE MAY I GET A TATTOO? 
AT WHAT AGE MAY I USE TOBACCO PRODUCTS? 
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DO I NEED MY PARENTS’ PERMISSION TO GET MY BODY PIERCED? 
AT WHAT AGE CAN I 
LEGALLY DRINK IN RHODE ISLAND? 
If providing treatment to a youth without adult consent, the professional may only provide “non-invasive, non-custodial” treatment services. It is encouraged, however, that the qualified professional continues to make attempts to obtain permission from the youth to obtain parental consent for and parental involvement in the treatment.82 
If you need custodial treatment for chemical dependency, your parents must be notified and they must give their consent. If they refuse and a qualified health professional feels that you need treatment, DCYF may file a petition in the Family Court to get a court order allowing the treatment. The court may determine if you are mature and capable of making your own decision about treatment before approval will be granted and will also consider any risk factors relative to the recommended treatment. 
· You can enter a contract to get a tattoo when you are eighteen (18). In Rhode Island, any person who gives a tattoo to a minor under the age of eighteen (18) shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, shall be imprisoned for up to one year or fined up to Three Hundred Dollars ($300.00). “Tattooing” is the practice of marking skin with indelible patterns or pictures by punctures and insertion of pigments. You may have a tattoo removed at any age.83 
· 
➘ Smoking is now banned in many public places. No person under the age of eighteen (18) may legally smoke, chew, or possess tobacco on any public street. A minor can be fined up to five dollars ($5.00) for each offense.84 Of course, there is no age at which it is medically safe or intelligent to use any tobacco product. We now know that tobacco is addictive and seriously injures our bodies. 

In 2001, the Rhode Island General Assembly clarified in the law referred to above that a minor employed by a licensed tobacco retailer can sell tobacco products; otherwise, a minor cannot use or possess tobacco products for personal use. 

➘ Body piercing of a minor is illegal and prohibited. If your parents or guardian gives consent (permission), you may have your body pierced. Body piercers must be registered to do business with the Department of Health. The Department of Health has specific rules and regulations controlling those who offer body piercing. The goal of the regulations is to prevent diseases which can be spread by their instruments. Human immunodeficiency virus (commonly referred to as HIV) and hepatitis B can be transmitted through body piercing. These are serious diseases.85 

You should be aware of the potential of future and permanent disfigurement and harm to your body before urging your parent to give you permission to have your body pierced. 
· You may not legally consume alcohol until you are twenty-one (21) years of age. You must be eighteen (18) years of age to serve liquor in a restaurant or other licensed establishment. Regarding employment as a bartender and alcohol consumption, see the next chapter discussing employment rights of minors. 

WHO HAS LEGAL CUSTODY OF ME IF I AM REMOVED FROM MY PARENTS? 
WHAT ARE MY RIGHTS IF I AM PLACED IN A RESIDENTIAL FACILITY? 
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➘ Depending on the order from a Family Court judge, the state will usually be granted legal custody of you after you have been removed from your parents’ home. This means that child welfare officials will make decisions regarding your health, education, and welfare. Your parents may be required to sign releases and give permission. Physical custody means the place where you live and who is supervising you on a daily basis.34 


The Office of the Child Advocate has published a brochure for you called the Children’s Bill of Rights, which highlights areas of your legal rights while you are in state care. These rights include your every day physical needs, the location of your placement, educational rights, and your special right to dignity. 36 
You may call the Office of the Child Advocate for a copy of this brochure at 
(401) 222-6650, or if you have Internet access, the address is www.childadvocate.state.ri.us. 
➘ Some examples of your legal rights, more fully described in the Children’s Bill of Rights, while you are in state care, are as follows: 
· You have a right to receive mail. 
· Your basic needs for food, clothing and shelter must be met. 
· You may have visits with your family as part of your case plan. 
· You have a right to contact your attorney, guardian ad litem, clergy member or a representative of the Office of the Child Advocate. 
· You have a right to receive substance abuse treatment. 
· You have a right to an appropriate education. 
WHAT IS THE ROLE OF THE OFFICE OF THE CHILD ADVOCATE IN RHODE ISLAND? 
There are two ways the state gains legal custody of you if your parents are not able to care for your basic needs:  1.) Voluntary placement – when your parents agree to let DCYF take care of you and 2.) Court placement – when the court grants custody of you to DCYF because you have been abused or neglected. The judge decides when you can return to your parents after a reunification plan has been worked out solving the problems that led to your removal from your home.35 
· The Office of the Child Advocate is a state agency responsible for protecting the legal rights of children in state care.  They monitor placement facilities, DCYF policies, as well as budget and legislative matters that affect children in the care of DCYF. 
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DO I HAVE THE RIGHT TO AN ATTORNEY IN A DEPENDENCY/NEGLECT AND/OR ABUSE CASE? 
WHAT CAN I DO IF I AM BEING ABUSED AT A DCYF PLACEMENT? 
WHAT ARE THE LEGAL RIGHTS OF CHILDREN WHO ARE VICTIMS OF CRIMES? 
HOW DO I FILE A CLAIM FOR CRIMINAL COMPENSATION UNDER THIS PROGRAM? 
IS THERE ANY WAY I COULD LOSE MY ELIGIBILITY FOR CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION UNDER THIS PROGRAM? 
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➘ You have the right to an attorney to represent your best interest.  A guardian ad litem is an attorney appointed through the Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) program administered by the Family Court. A guardian ad litem is an adult who speaks on your behalf to the judge. Your CASA attorney will inform you of your legal rights and will represent your interest in court. 37 

Discuss any concerns regarding your case with your CASA attorney. 
· If you are unhappy where you are, you can request another placement from DCYF. You should immediately report any abuse or mistreatment in your placement to your caseworker or the DCYF hotline at 1-800-RI CHILD. Depending on the circumstances, you may be moved immediately. 
· If you have been the victim of certain crimes, there is a program to help you with the costs of your medical and counseling expenses, as well as lost wages resulting from the crime. This program administers the current law, which provides compensation to victims who have suffered physical or emotional injury in violent crimes in Rhode Island. The dependents and immediate family members of a homicide victim may also recover lost wages, burial costs and counseling expenses for survivors.38 The Crime Victims Compensation Program can be reached by calling (401) 222-2287. 

If you were victimized before September 1, 1999, you may also be eligible for financial compensation for pain and suffering under a previous law now administered by the Crime Victims Compensation Program. 
➘ 

WHAT IS AIDS (ACQUIRED IMMUNE DEFICIENCY SYNDROME)? 
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DO I NEED PARENTAL OR GUARDIAN CONSENT (PERMISSION) TO BE TESTED FOR A SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED DISEASE (STD)? 
CAN THE TEST RESULTS BE DISCLOSED WITHOUT MY PERMISSION? 
DO I NEED A PARENT’S CONSENT (PERMISSION) IF I WANT TO ENTER A SUBSTANCE ABUSE OR CHEMICAL DEPENDENCY TREATMENT PROGRAM? 
III. SEXUALLY TRANSMITTED DISEASES 
➘ AIDS is a disease caused by a virus that makes it hard for your body to resist infection. It can lead to your death. The AIDS virus is transmitted or passed in semen, blood, and vaginal secretions. If the virus gets into your blood stream, you can become infected. 
There is no vaccine to protect us against AIDS. There is no cure for AIDS. There is some evidence that the number of deaths from AIDS is increasing in America. 
You do not get AIDS from toilet seats, water fountains, touching, swimming pools, or simply being around someone who has AIDS. You can get AIDS if you have unprotected or unsafe sex with someone who carries the virus. 
· The Department of Health has developed a specific “HIV Informed Consent” form, which explains the obligations of confidentiality regarding test results. Consent is a legal term meaning that you have given permission, after having all the information you need, to make an intelligent choice or decision. As a rule, you must have your parent or guardian give consent before you may be tested. You do not have to have your parents’ consent, if they refuse to give it and you are under the age of fourteen (14) and appear to have symptoms of AIDS, or if you are in DCYF custody, or you have an emergency medical problem and it is impossible to obtain adult consent. 
· It is unlawful for any person to disclose to a third party the result of an AIDS test without prior permission of your parents or guardian except to your physician or health professional who referred you for the test. The director of DCYF may be notified of the test results if you are in state custody.80 

IV. OTHER MEDICAL TREATMENT ISSUES 
· Any person who has reached their sixteenth (16th) birthday, or is married, may consent to routine emergency medical or surgical care. If you are a minor parent, you may consent to the treatment of your child. Otherwise, children under sixteen (16) must obtain parental consent; if you are in state care, you and your parent must have the consent of DCYF.81 


· Yes. In all treatment of a youth for substance abuse or chemical dependency, the licensed treatment facility shall require the parents of the youth to participate in the treatment.  Parental consent for treatment of youth is required unless in the judgment of a qualified professional, contacting the parent(s) would not be helpful to the youth who is voluntarily seeking treatment. A qualified professional would include a doctor, nurse, certified counselor, or licensed psychologist. A parent could be biological or adoptive, or a legal guardian. 
➘ You must report the crime to law enforcement authorities within ten (10) days and make application for compensation within one (1) year of the crime. This period will be extended if you were a minor at the time of the crime. You must cooperate with the reasonable requests of investigators and the attorney prosecuting the crime.39
Yes. If you have contributed to the crime or you have been imprisoned or convicted of a violent crime yourself, you may lose your right to recover compensation.40 

AT WHAT AGE MAY I GET EMERGENCY MEDICAL OR SURGICAL CARE WITHOUT PARENTAL PERMISSION? 

IF MY BABY DIES, MUST I REPORT IT TO THE POLICE? 
WHAT IS DATE RAPE OR ACQUAINTANCE RAPE? 
DOES A MALE FACE CRIMINAL PENALTIES FOR HAVING SEXUAL RELATIONSHIPS WITH FEMALES WHO ARE MINORS? 
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· Yes. Under Rhode Island law any female who has given birth and conceals the death of an infant to whom she gave birth, whether the baby died of natural causes or was murdered, shall be imprisoned up to ten (10) months in a separate charge, or fined up to Three Hundred Dollars ($300.00) for concealing facts.74 
· 
➘ Rape is forced sexual intercourse and is a crime of violence. A rape victim has not consented to sexual intercourse. Two out of three rapes occur in social situations. Often the rapist is a person known to the victim and not a stranger. You do not give your legal consent to sexual intercourse when the rapist has used force, with or without a weapon, or has threatened you with harm before the act.  Alcohol intoxication can also take away your capacity to consent. 

You should report rape immediately to an adult whom you trust and determine your best course of action to immediately involve law enforcement and medical professionals. You will immediately need to see a physician to obtain a semen sample from you to provide further proof of the identity of your attacker. This evidence will supplement your own words (or testimony) against your attacker. 
· Yes. Any person over the age of eighteen (18) years of age who engages in sexual penetration of another person who is under the age of consent which is age sixteen (16), and over the age of fourteen (14), can be found guilty and convicted of third degree sexual assault and faces a penalty of up to five years in prison.75 It should be noted, however, that while most situations involve males pursuing females, the law does not limit criminal liability to males, but rather includes any person who is sexually inappropriate with any other minor person. 

A person under the age of sixteen (16) cannot legally consent to sexual penetration and therefore, a defendant charged with third degree sexual assault is unable to offer a defense that the victim consented to the sexual act. This crime was previously and commonly referred to as statutory rape. 
A person is guilty of first degree child molestation sexual assault if he or she engages in sexual penetration with a person fourteen (14) years of age or under. The penalty for first degree child molestation sexual assault is not less than twenty (20) years imprisonment or life imprisonment.76 
A person is guilty of second degree child molestation sexual assault if he or she engages in sexual contact with another person fourteen (14) years of age or under. The penalty for second degree child molestation sexual assault is not less than six (6) years or more than thirty (30) years in prison.77 In interpreting the law, judges have made a distinction between touching that is intended to result in sexual arousal or gratification, and “an ambiguous touch” requiring a jury to speculate as to whether there was a sexual purpose.78 
Court records including the identity of a victim of child molestation sexual assault are confidential and shall not be made public.79 
WHAT EXPENSES ARE COVERED UNDER THE CRIME COMPENSATION PROGRAM? 
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WHAT ARE THE IDENTITY AND PRIVACY RIGHTS OF ADOPTED CHILDREN? 
WHAT IS OPEN ADOPTION? 

➘ Expenses not otherwise covered by insurance or other resources available to you, are covered by the program and include medical, dental, mental health treatment, and hospital expenses, funeral and burial expenses, a victim’s loss of earnings, and loss of support. There is a limit of $25,000 that you may recover, even if your expenses add up to more than that amount. 41 

Money for pain and suffering is not awarded under the current law, but may be available to victims of crimes that occurred before September 1, 1999. 
· Adoption is the judicial act of creating the relationship of parent and child where it previously did not exist. 

Children become available for adoption by various routes. Birth parents may be emotionally, financially, or physically unable to care for their children and voluntarily place their child with the state to be adopted by another family. Birth parents may be unable to care for the children and have to involuntarily surrender their rights to their children to the state against their wishes. DCYF can file a petition to end or terminate a parent’s right if they cannot be reunified with the child despite DCYF’s efforts to assist the parents. The biological parents’ rights must be legally and permanently ended or terminated by a Family Court order before the child may be adopted. 
An adoptee is the person who has been adopted. The birth parent is the person who is the biological mother or father of a child. If an adoptee in Rhode Island is fourteen (14) years or older, their consent to the adoption is required. 

➘ Once parental rights of the birth parents are ended or terminated, the child is no longer entitled to financial support or inheritance from the birth parents. The birth parents are no longer permitted to visit or be part of their child’s new life. Birth parents often claim to have a right to privacy, which prevents their child, or the adoptive parents, with whom the child has been placed, from being able to locate or communicate with them. 

Today there are more individuals seeking the state’s assistance to either locate their birth parents or their child whom they earlier placed for adoption. If both parties notify the Family Court that they wish to be found, the court may assist in a reunion. 42 
· When there is a significant emotional attachment between the child and the birth parents, and the adoptive parents have agreed or consented, the court can order post-adoption privileges, allowing the birth parents to visit and have information privileges about the child they placed for adoption. The court must determine that such an arrangement is in the best interest of the child. If the child is at least twelve (12) years of age, his or her agreement and consent to the post-adoption privileges must be obtained as well.43 
WHAT IS ADOPTION? 

WHAT IS GENETIC AND SOCIAL HISTORY? 
CAN I DISCOVER MY GENETIC AND SOCIAL HISTORY FROM MY BIRTH PARENTS AFTER I HAVE BEEN PLACED FOR ADOPTION? 
WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR MAINTAINING ADOPTION RECORDS IN RHODE ISLAND? 
HOW DOES A PERSON GAIN ACCESS TO RECORDS REGARDING ADOPTION IN R.I.? 
WHAT REMEDY IS AVAILABLE TO AN ADOPTIVE FAMILY WHO HAS LEARNED THAT IMPORTANT INFORMATION CONCERNING MEDICAL OR GENETIC HERITAGE OF THE ADOPTEE WAS NOT PROVIDED ABOUT THE CHILD WHO WAS LATER ADOPTED? 
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· Genetic and social history is a comprehensive report regarding the birth parents, their parents, siblings, and other children without revealing names and identifying information. The history includes medical history, health status, and cause of death if deceased, ethnic origins, religion, height, weight, eye and hair color, of the family of origin. Health history is a comprehensive report regarding the child’s medical history and the status at the time of the placement, including psychological issues. 
· Rhode Island has recognized that adopted children or their adoptive parents have a right to know more about the adopted child’s birth family. This right must be balanced with the recognized right to privacy of the birth parents. The legislature has created a “Passive Voluntary Adoption Reunion Registry” in which birth parents, or their surviving relatives, if the birth parents are deceased, and the adult adoptee, may register with the state indicating their willingness to release limited information. This information may relate to health, social and genetic history of birth parents or others, but not their names. 44 Both parties must register for information to be released. If both parties agree, identifying information can be disclosed. 
· The Adoption Registry is maintained by the Rhode Island Family Court. All records of any adoption finalized in Rhode Island are permanently maintained by the Department of Children, Youth, and Families (DCYF).45 
· Similar to other states, Rhode Island will not disclose information in adoption records maintained by the state unless a court has ordered that the person seeking the information has established a right to that information.46 
· Rhode Island has joined other states in declaring that once an agency in the business of arranging adoptions begins to provide or volunteer any information about a child to prospective adoptive parents, a legal duty is created that includes refraining from making negligent or careless misrepresentations about the child’s or biological parents’ medical and genetic background. 

The agency can be held responsible for failure to disclose relevant information when asked by adoptive parents before the adoption is finalized. A lawsuit may be maintained against the adoption agency for money damages in a Rhode Island court to cover the medical and other expenses for the child’s future treatment and care. 
By providing a solution for negligent misrepresentation of a child’s medical and genetic heritage, it is believed that the legislature and courts strengthen and uphold the integrity of the adoption process.47 
DO I NEED PARENTAL CONSENT (PERMISSION) TO OBTAIN AN ABORTION TO TERMINATE AN UNWANTED PREGNANCY? 
CAN MY PARENTS OR BOYFRIEND FORCE ME TO HAVE AN ABORTION IF I DON’T WANT ONE? 
IF I AM UNABLE TO BE A PARENT TO MY INFANT, MAY I SURRENDER THE INFANT TO A HOSPITAL? 
IF I HAVE A BABY WHILE I AM IN AN OUT-OF-HOME PLACEMENT, CAN THE STATE TAKE MY BABY AWAY FROM ME? 
DO I NEED MY PARENT OR GUARDIAN’S PERMISSION TO PUT MY BABY UP FOR ADOPTION? 
Parental permission (consent) requirements violate federal programs and guidelines under the Social Security Act and other federal laws protecting the economic rights of families. Neither you nor your doctor is breaking the law if you request and receive a prescription for birth control.70 
In Rhode Island, if you don’t have any money to pay for birth control, RITE Care will cover the cost for you. To access this program and medical services, you may call RITE Care at (401) 462-1300, which is administered by the Rhode Island Department of Human Services. 
➘ 

A minor cannot get an abortion without both parents’ consent if she is unemancipated or unmarried. If you cannot obtain your parents’ or guardian’s consent (permission) to have an abortion, or if you choose not to seek their consent, a Family Court judge can authorize a physician to perform the abortion. Before giving you permission to have an abortion, the judge will determine whether you are mature and capable of providing informed consent (permission) to have the abortion. If the judge determines that you are not mature, but that it is in your best interest to end or terminate your pregnancy, the judge may still authorize the physician to perform the abortion.

71 

For additional information call Planned Parenthood at 1-800-230-PLAN or 
(401) 421-7820. 
· Absolutely not. Whether or not to have an abortion is your choice alone. No one can make it for you. No one can force you to have an abortion if you do not want one. If you need to talk to someone about your decision, discuss it with your family physician, school guidance counselor, religious advisor or clergy, or someone else you can turn to for advice.  You may contact CARE NET R.I. at (401) 941-HELP or (401) 941-4357. 
· Yes.  In 2001, the General Assembly created a “Safe Haven for Infants Awareness Program.”  A person who leaves an infant a month old or younger, at a hospital or other designated facility, will not be prosecuted for abandonment of an infant. 
· Your DCYF caseworker might file a petition to have the baby become a dependent child, as defined elsewhere in this Handbook, if the circumstances support that decision. You should contact a lawyer about your rights as a parent in this situation. You have the right to have a lawyer represent you at no cost, if DCYF files a petition against you seeking custody of your baby. The baby may be able to stay with you in your placement, or the baby may be taken away and placed in a separate placement. If available, you may be transferred with your baby to a placement that is most supportive of you as a parent.72 
· No. Voluntary termination of your parental rights does not require your parent’s consent. The state does require the consent of both parents (that means you) of the baby before the baby can be adopted.73 Generally, the Family Court will appoint a guardian ad litem to ensure that you understand the consequences of your decisions. A guardian ad litem is an adult who can speak to the court on your behalf after becoming familiar with your case. 

 CHAPTER THREE 
CHAPTER 4 CHILDREN’S PRIVACY AND CONSENT (PERMISSION) RIGHTS REGARDING MARRIAGE, MEDICAL & HEALTH CARE, & PREGNANCY 

EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS OF CHILDREN 
I. MARRIAGE 
A person under the age of eighteen (18) may NOT apply for a marriage license without parental consent. A marriage license is not available to female minors under the age of sixteen (16) years, or male minors under the age of eighteen 

(18) years of age, unless and until the town clerk responsible for issuing marriage licenses receives written parental permission (consent), or is directed to do so by the Family Court. The law requires that the Family Court conduct a hearing in chambers to determine the advisability of issuing a marriage license to otherwise age disqualified minors. In each case, an application will depend on the unique and individual circumstances of the minor children involved. An important factor will be the maturity of the applicant.68 

The population of married teenagers during the 1990’s increased dramatically. In 2000, fewer than 5% of all teens between the ages of fifteen 

(15) and nineteen (19) years of age, or a total of 891,000 American teens, were married. 

It is believed that teens are becoming more educated about matters of sexuality and terminal diseases such as AIDS that can be transmitted during sex. Also, many new citizens coming from countries in Latin America, Asia, and sub-Saharan Africa, may account for the increase in teen marriages because teen marriages are more common and accepted in cultures from those countries. Studies show that nearly half of the marriages in which the bride is eighteen (18) years of age or younger end in separation or divorce within ten (10) years. 
II. PREGNANCY AND RELATED ISSUES 
There has been considerable controversy and litigation (lawsuits) at the federal level surrounding the issue of whether a public school or publicly funded health clinic can offer a voluntary program that distributes birth control methods to minors without a parent’s or guardian’s consent (permission). It is generally agreed that a minor’s constitutional right of privacy is stronger than a parent’s right to control the decision of a minor who wishes to use birth control to prevent pregnancy. Rhode Island recognizes a minor’s right to privacy in this area. You own your body and it is your choice to use birth control as prescribed by your physician.69 
A recent survey showed that 47% of the girls currently using health clinics for birth control services would stop doing so if their parents were told they were using it. Another recent study published in the Journal of the American Medical Association found that 99% of girls would continue to be sexually active even if they stopped using the health services at a clinic. 
CAN I APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE AND GET MARRIED IF I HAVE NOT YET REACHED THE AGE OF EIGHTEEN (18)? 
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DO I HAVE TO OBTAIN PERMISSION TO GET A PRESCRIPTION FOR BIRTH CONTROL? 
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WHERE ARE THE CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS OF CHILDREN DESCRIBED? 
DO I HAVE CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS AS A STUDENT? 
WHAT ARE CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS? 
DO I HAVE A RIGHT TO ATTEND A PUBLIC SCHOOL? 
CAN A PUBLIC SCHOOL REFUSE ADMISSION TO CHIDREN WHO ARE NOT U.S. CITIZENS? 
I. STUDENTS HAVE STATE AND FEDERAL EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS GUARANTEED BY THE UNITED STATES AND STATE CONSTITUTIONS 
While most state constitutions originally considered education to be a duty of the state and a privilege granted to citizens, more recent thinking reflects that the United States Constitution protects and recognizes certain rights for all children to have a “free and appropriate” public education. 
· The legal rights of children are recognized in and protected by both the United States Constitution and the Rhode Island Constitution. They are similar documents, often a mirror image of each other with similar language, that describe your rights, as well as restrictions on the federal and state governments to interfere with those rights. Included in the constitution is a Bill of Rights which defines specific constitutional rights that belong to you as an individual. If you feel that a state or federal law, or a representative of those governments, is violating your constitutional rights, you can have a lawyer challenge the law, or how it is being applied to you, and ask a court to protect your rights. 
· Yes. As will be discussed in this chapter, the United States Supreme Court has declared that children do not shed or leave behind their constitutional rights at the school building door. 
· 
➘ Constitutional rights are involved in various and numerous areas of student life which can include censorship of your school newspaper, dress codes, random drug testing, hate speech, sex education, condom distribution, sex and race discrimination, and prayer in the schools. 

These are the rights of free speech, to express an opinion without fear of being punished, religious rights, freedom to speak about how things are run, to be free not to be body searched or have your belongings searched, to be free to make decisions about your personal health and body, and to be represented by a lawyer before being incarcerated for violating a law, to name just a few. Being incarcerated means being put in a correctional facility, such as the Rhode Island Training School. 
· Yes. All children in the United States have the right to attend public school free of charge. In addition to citizens, the right to go to school belongs to all children who live in the United States, including illegal residents and students who have physical or mental disabilities. This right cannot be taken away from you unless you engage in serious misbehavior which prevents other students from exercising their right to receive an education.48 
· No. All children living in the United States, including children whose parents are in the country illegally, have the right to attend a public school. It is illegal for a school official to exclude you from becoming a student in the public school because you cannot show a document proving that you are a United States citizen when you sign-up or register for school.49 

22 
15 
DO I HAVE THE RIGHT TO CHOOSE WHICH PUBLIC SCHOOL I ATTEND? 
WHAT IS A HOMELESS YOUTH FOR PURPOSES OF FEDERAL EDUCATION LAW? 
HOW CAN I OBTAIN AN APPROPRIATE EDUCATION IF I HAVE NOT YET LEARNED TO SPEAK ENGLISH? 
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· No. If you are a minor, you must go to school in the district where you live. If you are in foster care, under federal and state law, you have the right to remain in the school where you last lived with your family before being placed in state care for that school year. The state must pay for your transportation from your original school to your foster family’s neighborhood. 50 
· A homeless student is one who lacks a fixed, adequate nighttime residence. It includes sharing a house with others because your family was evicted or has no money; living in motels; living in public places; or in substandard housing. It also includes children waiting for foster care placements, such as emergency shelters or night-to–night placements that are not fixed. It includes children who have run away from home and have no address. There is a Federal Court suit filed by The Office of Child Advocate in Rhode Island that prohibits DCYF from putting children in night-tonight placements and requires that children be transported to their school during the day, if there is an emergency overnight placement outside their school district. 
· You have the right to an education that is appropriate for you that includes having English instruction if you have arrived from another country and have not yet learned to speak, read, or write in English. There are different kinds of programs for schools to administer to meet the obligation to provide an appropriate education to students for whom English is a second language. There are several organizations in Rhode Island to assist you. A good place to start for information and assistance is the International Institute in Providence, call them at (401) 461-5940. 

II. STUDENTS HAVE RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS CONNECTED TO LOCKER SEARCHES, BACKPACK AND PURSE SEARCHES, DESK AND BODY SEARCHES, WHILE ON SCHOOL PREMISES 
The Fourth Amendment to the constitution guarantees each of us the right to be free from unreasonable searches and seizures of our property by government employees, police and principals. The question always is: What is reasonable under the circumstances? 

DO I HAVE THE RIGHT TO SEE MY OWN SCHOOL RECORDS? 
DO I HAVE THE RIGHT TO CORRECT INFORMATION IN MY STUDENT RECORDS IF I DISCOVER ERRORS IN THE RECORDS? 
DO I HAVE THE RIGHT TO OPT OUT (NOT PARTICIPATE) OR PREVENT DISCLOSURE OF ANY INFORMATION ABOUT ME CONTAINED IN MY SCHOOL RECORDS, BUT REQUESTED BY THE MILITARY SERVICE? 
IF I BECOME PREGNANT, MAY I CONTINUE AS A STUDENT IN SCHOOL? 
· Yes. Federal law grants you the right to see your own records and limits the ability of the public to see your records. The Buckley Amendment to the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), guarantees to parents and students who are over eighteen (18) years of age, the right to examine student records, but only if the school receives federal funds. In FERPA, Congress directs the U.S. Secretary of Education to deny federal funding to Rhode Island if it allows a policy or practice of permitting unauthorized release of educational records or other personal information about you. The law applies to public and private schools receiving federal funds of any kind. Under Rhode Island law, the parents or guardians of each child enrolled in an elementary or secondary school are to be notified each year in writing by the school district responsible for the operation of their school of their educational rights which include the right to inspect, copy, and correct their school records.65 
· 
➘ Yes. Under the Buckley Amendment, and under Rhode Island law, you have the right to meet with your school staff (administrators) to change records that contain incorrect or unfair material about you. If your request for a meeting is rejected, you have a right to a formal hearing before an impartial hearing officer, within a reasonable time after you request it. You must have a full opportunity to make your case about correcting errors in your school records. 

The hearing officer must give you a written decision on your request to correct your record within a reasonable time after the hearing. If you don’t like the decision, you have the right to appeal, and to have that decision reviewed by a higher authority.66 

➘ As will be discussed in CHAPTER SEVEN, regarding the mandatory registration (sign-up) of males for the military services, federal law now requires schools to provide “directory information” about you, such as your name, address, date and place of birth, as well as your phone numbers, to military recruiters. Schools that refuse to comply face losing federal education funding. There is a section in the law, however, that allows parents to opt out (not participate) in sharing this data. For further assistance, you can contact a private lawyer or the Rhode Island chapter of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) whose number in Providence is (401) 831-7171. 

This information may also be requested when you apply for a job by your prospective employer, as will be discussed. A prospective employer has no right to this information unless you sign a release authorizing its disclosure. 
· Yes. Federal law protects students from discrimination by schools, whether the student is married, pregnant, pregnant and unmarried, or has children. The school cannot exclude you from attending classes if you are pregnant. Because extracurricular activities are an important part of school life, pregnant students cannot be discriminated against by rules that limit their ability to participate in extracurricular activities. 67 

WHAT ARE SOME OTHER EXAMPLES OF THE LIMITS ON MY FIRST AMENDMENT RIGHT TO FREE SPEECH WHEN I AM IN SCHOOL? 
CAN MY SCHOOL REQUIRE MY PARTICIPATION IN FILLING OUT A QUESTIONNAIRE THAT SOLICITS PRIVATE INFORMATION ABOUT ME OR MY FAMILY? 
DO I HAVE PRIVACY RIGHTS IN MY SCHOOL RECORDS? 
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➘ The limits on your speech while you are in school are continuously being defined. A public high school student, who addressed other students at a school assembly and used sexually crude language in an attempt to be humorous, was suspended for violating a school rule against obscene language. The court concluded that the suspension did not violate the student’s constitutional right to free speech. The student’s speech was considered hostile toward teenage girls in the audience, as well as towards teachers and other students. Other students generally have a right to a learning environment free from such language.62 

The test in such cases is whether the speech is disruptive of the school environment. The larger the potential for disruption, as found by the court, the greater the likelihood that the school’s rules will be upheld over the individual student’s right of free speech or expressive conduct. 
· Yes. The United States Supreme Court allowed a school principal to censor articles in a school newspaper that talked about the students’ experiences with the divorce of their parents and their own sexual experiences. The principal decided that some of the content violated other people’s right to privacy. The school did not want the younger students to read the sex stories. There were judges who disagreed with the decision because they felt that allowing the principal to remove the articles was “brutal censorship” that violated the First Amendment guarantee of the right to free speech.63 

VI. STUDENTS’ PRIVACY RIGHTS 
· No. It is illegal for any person or school to circulate or permit to be circulated in any school any questionnaire that asks you, as a student, any personal questions about you or your family. This is considered a violation of your privacy and constitutional rights as a child. An unauthorized questionnaire is also an invasion of your family’s home. If the Department of Education or a local school committee has obtained approval, however, it may be allowed. Otherwise anyone who violates this law can be fined up to one hundred dollars ($100.00) for each offense.64 
· Yes. You and your parents may not even be aware of the amount or type of information that is collected in your school file. From the time you enter kindergarten, until you graduate, your school district has been collecting information about you. 

CAN A SCHOOL REQUIRE THAT I SUBMIT TO RANDOM URINE OR OTHER DRUG TESTS TO QUALIFY FOR PARTICIPATION IN SCHOOL EXTRACURRICULAR ACTIVITIES OR INTERSCHOLASTIC ATHLETICS? 
CAN A PRINCIPAL SEARCH MY PURSE FOR MARIJUANA IF I AM CAUGHT SMOKING CIGARETTES ON SCHOOL PROPERTY? 
CAN A SCHOOL OFFICIAL MAKE ME SUBMIT TO A STRIP SEARCH IF I AM SUSPECTED OF DRUG USE? 
DO I HAVE A CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO A HEARING BEFORE I AM SUSPENDED OR EXPELLED FROM SCHOOL BASED ON SOME ALLEGATION OF MISCONDUCT? 
➘ 

Yes. The United States Supreme Court in 1995 ruled that there is no expectation of privacy in a locker room during school, that is more important than a school’s need to protect its learning environment from illegal drug use. Not all the judges who are on the Court agreed with the final ruling. From 1995 to 2002, one study showed that only 5% of schools in the country exercised the right to conduct random drug testing of athletes. 

51 

The ruling was recently expanded, however, in 2002, in another case in which the Court ruled that school staff could also conduct random drug testing of public high school students in extracurricular activities. The purpose of the random drug testing is to fight illegal drug use in the schools. Activities subject to drug testing may include groups such as your band, sports, academic programs, or even your Chess Club. If you refuse to take the drug test, you could lose your right to continue your participation in that activity.52 
In 2001, President Bush authorized $472 million in federal financing to pay for random drug testing of children attending public schools across America. Critics of the new law feel that it unfairly targets those students least likely to be using drugs, as it is believed that students involved in school activities are usually mentally healthy and too busy being productive to bother with illegal drug activity. 
· Yes.  The United States Supreme Court decided in one case that because there was a reasonable belief that the student was smoking cigarettes in violation of a school rule, a school official could keep searching her purse after he found drug use materials, and letters identifying and blaming other students for purchasing drugs. The Court decided that the school’s interest in keeping its learning environment free of drugs was more important than an individual student’s right to an expectation of privacy in her purse.53 
· Absolutely not. In a case where the school brought in police officers and drug sniffing dogs, a thirteen (13) year old girl was ordered to take her clothes off to be searched after it appeared that a dog sniffed drugs on or near her person; the Court decided that such a search was an invasion of constitutional rights and any known principle of human decency. The female student was also allowed to sue for money damages to recover compensation against the school for the violation of her constitutional rights and personal dignity protected by our constitutions.54 
· Yes. The due process clause of the constitution requires that there must be an official proceeding and a hearing before the school, as the representative of the government, can take any action against you after being accused of some wrongdoing.55 
DO SCHOOL OFFICIALS AT MY SCHOOL HAVE THE AUTHORITY (POWER) TO REVIEW, REGULATE, AND CENSOR WHAT IS INCLUDED IN STUDENT NEWSPAPERS OR OTHER PUBLICATIONS SPONSORED BY MY SCHOOL? 
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➘ 


You have the right to a free and appropriate education regardless of whether you have disabilities. Rhode Island, like all other states, has created (enacted) laws and regulations describing how students with disabilities are to be provided with the required education.58 
· Under federal law, students who have physical or mental health problems that limit at least one of life’s major activities are disabled. Disabled children can include children who are deaf, hard of hearing, totally or partially blind, speech-impaired, have trouble moving, or have a specific learning disability. An example of a specific learning disability would include the inability to learn to read in the usual way, such as dyslexia.57 
· The federal law protecting students with disabilities has two objectives. The first one is to identify disabled students in order to provide them with the special education they need. The second one is to assure that students with disabilities are not placed into a special class if they do not need to be. 
IV. EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS OF STUDENTS WITH LEARNING DIFFERENCES AND DISABILITIES 
WHAT IS A LEARNING DISABILITY? 
WHAT IS AN APPROPRIATE EDUCATION FOR CHILDREN WITH DISABILTIES ATTENDING SCHOOL? 
➘ A student who sues another student for sexual harassment must show that the misconduct was so severe that it prevented the student victim’s access to an educational benefit or opportunity. 
IF I AM A VICTIM OF SEXUAL HARASSMENT FROM ANOTHER STUDENT, WHAT MUST I PROVE TO ESTABLISH MY CLAIM? 
Federal law, as noted, makes it illegal for a school to allow a student to be sexually harassed. If the student has been sexually harassed and wants to sue for money damages, the student must prove that the school had actual notice of the harassment and chose to do nothing about it to protect the student. 
Most cases involve student-to-student sexual harassment; however, sexual harassment can also occur against students by teachers, coaches, counselors, principals, or other school staff. 
Sexual harassment is commonly understood as any unwelcome behavior of a sexual nature. There have been several cases describing it as unwanted sexual touching, grabbing, remarks, and gestures. Such behavior ruins a student’s sense of well-being and emotional safety in the learning environment. All students have an absolute right to be free from sexual abuse or harassment while they attend school, whether such harassment is from school officials or other students.

III. STUDENTS HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE FREE FROM SEXUAL HARASSMENT WHILE ATTENDING SCHOOL 
 (
It depends. If the school officials initiate the search and the police involvement is minimal than the lower standard for school officials apply. This is also true if the search is conducted on the officer’s initiative but it is to further educational goals. 
However if the search is done by an outside police officer and is to further an criminal investigation then the warrant limitation applies, and the police officer is not allowed to search without a warrant. 
T.S 
v. State
 863 N.E 2d
. 
362 (Ind. Ct. App. 2007)
.
) (
WHAT IS SEXUAL HARASSMENT?
) (
Yes. Only in rare circumstances where the school officials are acting as agents of law enforcement. The acquisition of evidence by an individuals acting as an agents of the police must be reviewed by the same constitutional standards that govern law enforcement officials
. 
if school officials agree to take on the mantle of criminal investigation and enforcement they assume an understanding of constitutional criminal law equal to that of a law enforcement officer. 
State v. 
Heirtzler
 789 A.2d.
 
634 (N.H 2001)
.
) (
IS THERE EVER A TIME WHEN A SCHOOL OFFICIAL NEEDS TO GET A WARRANT BEFORE A SEARCH?
) (
CAN A POLICE OFFICER SEARCH ME AT SCHOOL WITHOUT A WARRANT?
) (
No. A school official cannot search you unless the search was justifiable at its ince
ption and that the scope of the
 search is reasonable under the circumstances. 
 
New Jersey
 v. T.L.O., 
469 U.S. 325 (1985).
 
) (
CAN THE SCHOOL RANDOMLY SEARCH ME IN THE INTEREST OF A LEARNING ENVIORNMENT FREE OF DRUGS?
) (
WWHAT IF THE PARENTS DO NOT AGREE WITH THE EVALUATION 
TEAM ?
) (
WWHEN IS A CHILD ELIGIBLE?
)

IF I AM HAVING TROUBLE IN SCHOOL AND SUSPECT THAT I MAY HAVE LEARNING OR OTHER DISABILITIES, HOW DO I GET ACCESS TO SPECIAL EDUCATION SERVICES AND PROGRAMS? 
If you or your parents, or education advocate (sometimes provided for you if you are in state care), feel that the IEP is inadequate, you have an absolute right to challenge it and schedule a hearing before a person who is independent and not working for the school. You have the right to have a lawyer at the hearing and to appeal a decision with which you disagree.59 
➘ The public school you attend must pay for experts in the field to evaluate you by giving you tests to determine what neurological or other conditions may be interfering with your ability to learn. Once your condition has been diagnosed (identified), your school officials, teachers, parents, along with those experts, will develop an Individualized Education Program (IEP) designed for your individual educational needs. 
 (
CAN THE EVALUATION TEAM DETERMIN
E
 SERVICES?
) (
WHAT IS A SPECIAL NEED OR SERVICE?
) (
A special need or service is a specially designed instruction to meet the unique needs of a child with a disability. Specially designed instruction means adapting, as appropriate to the need of an eligible child under this part, the content, methodology or delivery of instruction
For example, delivering the instructions in a small group, or adapting content assignments. It could also be done by method, such as frequent positive feedback and immediate attention to negative emotions. 
) (
No. 
court cases have held that if a child is succeeding only because school is providing specially-designed instruction that adapts content, methodology or delivery of instruction to the child’s unique needs, the school district cannot avoid categorizing the child as a “child with a disability” simply by not labeling the specially designed instruction “special education”
) (
IF THE STUDENT GETS SPECIAL NEEDS WITHOUT A PLAN CAN THE SCHOOL DENY THE STUDENT ELIGBILITY? 
) (
WHAT DOES THE SCHOOL HAVE TO GIVE ONCE THEY HAVE FOUND THE STUDENT TO BE ELIGIBLE?
) (
The standard is a “free appropriate public education.” (FAPE) This requirement is satisfied when it is reasonably calculated to enable the child to achieve passing marks and advance from grade to grade. The progress does have to be meaningful progress (1
st
 Circuit), however, the act does not guarantee services that will maximize the potential of the student. 
Rowley v. 
Hendrick
 Hudson School District
, 
458 U.S. 176 (1982).
 
) (
HOW IS AN IEP DEVELOPED?
) (
Once you have been tested and it has been determined that an IEP is necessary, the school board must conduct a meeting to create an IEP that will be most efficient for your learning.  This should be done within fifteen (15) school days from when the test was completed and it was decided that the student needed an IEP. 
IDEA 
§300.323(c)
) (
WHO CAN BE IN THE IEP MEETING?
) (
You and your parents should be at the meeting, as well as at least one of your regular education teachers. A special education teacher as well as a representative from the school district should attend the meeting. You are also entitled to have anyone else at the meeting that has special knowledge or expertise about you that can help create an efficient IEP. 
IDEA 
§300.321
Your Parents should play an active role in review and revising the IEP.  Your Parents should provide information about the strengths and weaknesses of their child and what program would work best. They need to express concerns about programs that would not work and make suggestions for their child’s education. 
IDEA 
§300.322
) (
This is a team that is called the evaluation team. This team includes the parents and other professionals that will determine what additional information would be necessary to determine if the child is one with special needs and requires specially designed instruction. 
The information should help determine the student’s strengths and needs what accommodations and modifications would or would not be effective for the child, and if the accommodations could be done through regular education services. 
If special education services are needed then the evaluation team needs to get written consent for the services. If no consent is received the team will develop a report on its own and share it with the IEP team
.
) (
No. the evaluation team only discusses the options fore special education services.  A parent must provide informed written consent before the IEP team can meet and develop the IEP.
) (
The parent can request a due process hearing or a mediation to resolve disagreements with the team.  This right should be told to the parents at the beginning of the process. 
) (
Students can be referred to either the school’s Problem Solving Team or the district’s 504 team. 
Problem Solving Team may provide the teacher with additional support that includes reducing language demands of content and cultural contexts for instructional planning. 
504 Team
: Even if the Student does not qualify for special needs through the evaluation team, they might still be considered disabled under Section 504 and should be referred to them for consideration. 
) (
WHAT HAPPNS IF THE CHILD DOES NOT QUALIFY FOR SEPCIAL NEEDS? 
) (
The child has to have a condition that is recognized like; mental retardation; hearing Impairment; Speech/Language 
Impairment; Visual impairment’ S
erious Emo
tional Disturbance; Orthopedic impairment; Autism; Traumatic B
rain Injury; Other health impairment; or a specific Learning Disability  
AND
 who by reason therefore needs special care thereof and related services
.
) (
WHO DECIDES IF A CHILD HAS SPECIAL NEEDS
?
)


 (
Present levels of academic achievement and functional performance, as well as measurable annual goals must be included in the IEP.  When the IEP will be implemented must also be included. There must also be a way to measure the annual goals, and how the parents will be informed of their child’s progress. 
If there are special education services they must be included in the IEP, as well as any supplementary aids and services. Further if the child is over fourteen (14) needed transition services must also be included. 
IDEA 
§300.320
) (
W
HAT INFORMATION IS REQUIRED IN
 A COMPLAINT?
) (
CAN THE SCHOOL DISTRICT HOLD A MEETING WITHOUT THE 
PARENTS ?
) (
When it is determined that a meeting will occur and who will be at the meeting, the school district must notify the parents ten (10) days prior to the IEP meeting.  The meeting place and time should be agreed upon by all parties before set, and the notice should include what will be discussed at the meeting. The school district must inform the parents that they have the right to invite other individuals who have knowledge, or special expertise about the child. 
If neither parent is available for the meeting the school district must try other forms of communication to make sure the parents can be involved in the meeting (i.e. telephone). If the parents are unwilling to attend or participate in the meeting, the school district must document attempts that gave the parents the opportunity to participate. 
If they are afforded every opportunity and still do not wish to come to the meeting the school district may hold the meeting without them. 
IDEA 
§300.322
.
) (
DO TEACHERS HAVE ACCESS TO THE IEP?
) (
Yes. The school district must make sure that each child’s teacher has access to the child’s IEP and the special responsibilities it will take to implement the IEP. 
IDEA 
§300.323(d).
) (
A required IEP meeting member may be excused from the meeting if agree in writing that their presence is not needed because their area is not being discussed. 
If the meeting is to discuss the missing party’s area of expertise there needs to be a written consent of the absence by the parents, and the member submits a writing to both parties their input about the IEP prior to the meeting.  
IDEA 
§ 300.321(e
)(
1)
) (
WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THE REQUIRED MEMBERS OF THE MEETING DO NOT ATTEND? 
) (
The team should consider the child’s strengths and concerns of the parents. The team would also consider the most recent evaluation, assessments on every level from class to state. The IEP can also consider observations, test results provided by the family, the student, and the teacher or other professionals. 
IDEA 
§300.324
) (
WHAT SHOULD BE CONSIDERED WHEN DEVELOPING THE STUDENT’S IEP?
) (
WHAT MUST BE INCLUDED IN AN IEP?
) (
WHAT HAPPENS TO THE STUDENT IF A COMPLAINT HAS BEEN FILED?
) (
CAN I CHALLENGE THE IEP?
) (
WHAT IF I DO NOT AGREE WITH THE METHOD IN THE IEP?
) (
The standard that the student is entitled to is a Free Appropriate Public Education (FAPE) Courts have given schools the authority to choose the methodology for educating children with IEPs. If your child is making progress in school, then the teaching methods being used are considered to be appropriate.
You will have to show that the student has not received a FAPE and therefore the school is violating the child’s right to the education. You will probably need to have independent assessment data showing your child is not receiving educational benefit and recommending the specific methodology.
) (
WHAT HAPPENS AFTER A COMPLAINT HAS BEEN FILED?
) (
Yes. If you feel you're at an impasse with the school district, you may think about your right to due process or file a state complaint. 
In order to request a hearing, you or the school district must submit a due process complaint to the other party. Whoever files the complaint, must also provide the Rhode Island Department of Education with a copy of the complaint. The due process complaint will be considered sufficient unless the party receiving the due process complaint notifies the hearing officer and the other party in writing, within 15 calendar-days of re
ceiving the complaint, that the receiving party believes that the due process complaint does not meet the requirements.
An organization or individual may file a signed written State complaint. The complaint must allege a violation that occurred not more than one year prior to the date that the complaint is received. The complaint can also be requesting compensatory services for a violation that occurred not more than 3 years prior to the date the complaint is received. The party filing the State complaint must forward a copy of the complaint to the school district or other public agency serving the child at the same time the party files the com
plaint with the Rhode Island Department of Education.
The complaint
 must include the alleged violation and the facts that this violation is based on. If the complaint is about a specific student then the complaint needs to include the name of the child, the name of the school the child is attending, the nature of the problem of the child’s and a resolution to that problem. 
IDEA 
§300.153
) (
Within 15 calendar days of receiving notice of your due process complaint, and before the due process hearing begins, the school district must convene a meeting with you and the relevant member or members of the individualized education program (IEP) Team who have specific knowledge of the facts identified in your due process complaint. The purpose of the meeting is for you to discuss your due process complaint, and the facts that form the basis of the complaint, so that the school district has the opportunity to resolve the dispute.
§300.510
) (
In Rhode Island there is a “stay put” law.  Meaning if the parents have demanded a formal information hearing the child stays in the last place that was agreed upon by all parties.  This is also the same if the parents have received notice that the school is trying to take the child off the special education program.
)

Students do not shed or leave behind their constitutional rights to free speech or expression when they enter the school building door. But school officials do have the power and authority to regulate expression that substantially interferes with the rights of other students and the work of the school. There is always, in the law, an attempt to balance everyone’s interests affected by a court decision. 
Because the confederate flag represented such terrible racially discriminatory conduct and could understandably create racial tension in the school, the court permitted school officials to regulate the speech and protect the school environment from chaos. By contrast, wearing a black armband to protest the Vietnam War did not create significant tension in the learning environment to justify its censor. 
· No. The First Amendment protection of the right to free speech includes the right not to speak as well. The right to speak or write without governmental interference also includes expressive conduct, such as conduct that sends a message, like picketing a store, wearing a political button, or creating a work of art. The students who challenged being forced to participate in reciting the pledge of allegiance, or risk being expelled from school, demonstrated to the Court that compulsory (required) recitation of the pledge interfered with their religious freedom, and that they could not be forced to recite the Pledge of Allegiance.60 
· The United States Supreme Court has found that a school cannot suspend a student for wearing a black armband in protest of the Vietnam War, but also found that a student in the South, who wore a jacket with a confederate flag, offensive to people of color and other persons as well, could be suspended.61 
CAN MY SCHOOL FORCE ME TO RECITE THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG IF I DON’T WANT TO? 
HOW DOES A COURT MAKE A DECISION ABOUT THE EXTENT TO WHICH A SCHOOL CAN DICTATE MY CLOTHING CHOICES, OR IMPOSE DRESS CODES ON THE STUDENT BODY? 
V. STUDENTS’ RIGHTS TO FREE SPEECH AND EXPRESSION: SCHOOL NEWSPAPERS AND DRESS CODES, RELIGIOUS EXPRESSION ON GOVERNMENT PROPERTY 
[bookmark: _GoBack] (
Yes. Rhode Island has developed a procedure to make mediation available to you and the school districts to resolves disagreements. This is available to resolve disputes whether or not you have filed a due process complaint.  This is voluntary to all parties, and needs to be conducted by a qualified and impartial mediator who is trained. 
IDEA 
§300.506
) (
IS THERE ANYTHING BESIDES A HEARING THAT IS AVAILABLE? 
) (
The parents have a right to be reimbursed for moving their child to where they could get the appropriate education for children with special needs. The reasoning being that education delayed is education denied. It has to be shown that the school was unwilling to give the student the proper placement or care and that the child needed this special education. 
There is the possibility of unilateral placement. The parents who remove the child must give notice to the school of four (4) things. (
i
) that they have rejected the plan that has been created, (ii) that they are planning on removing their child form the school, (iii) that they plan on enrolling the child in private school and (iv) that they are planning on asking for reimbursement. 
20 U.S.C 1412(a
)(
10)(C
)
) (
CAN I BE REIMBURSED IF I ENROLL IN PRIVATE SCHOOL BEFORE THE HEARING?
) (
IS THE IEP JUST FOR A HIGH SCHOOL EDUCATION? 
) (
No. After the age of 14 attendance of the student at the IEP meeting is no longer at the discretion of the parent. The school is required to invite the student to the IEP meetings even at a younger age if the purpose of the meeting is to consider post-school goals. 
The IEP team becomes an important support for life after school. The team researches options and are an important part of the transition outside of school. These long range goals explore options available to the students and allow the students to take certain courses that will help them reach the long-term goals. The IEP must begin to create links of post-secondary education and training/adult services. By creating the goals and links now, it opens communication to these agencies and creates a smooth transition for the students. 
) (
Yes. Every IEP done after the student turns fourteen (14) must include, appropriate measurable postsecondary goals that relate to training, education, employment and independent living (if appropriate). As well as the services during school that will be needed in to help the student reach the goals. This needs to be done in light of the student’s specific needs. 
IDEA 
§300.320(b)
) (
DOES THE TRANSITION REQUIREMENT APPLY TO EVERY CHILD OVER FOURTEEN (14)?
) (
WHAT HAPPENS TO MY IEP IF I GET IN TROUBLE?
) (
The special needs student may not be suspended for more than ten days based on a disciplinary infraction if the behavior of the child was a manifestation of the child’s disability. 
If the misconduct doesn’t involve drugs or misconduct the school must conduct a manifestation determination to determine if it was based on the disability or not.
 If the infraction was not a manifestation of the disability they still have to continue with his IEP. Meaning the school has to find a different placement for him while they are not allowed at school.
) (
Yes, if it is appropriate. For example, if the student has the ability to learn, than the school has to teach her how to read and not just read to her. The School has to prepare the child for adulthood after school and being able to survive.  They are not allowed to provide for accommodations in lieu of instruction that could mitigate the 
disability.  This can be done with compensatory education after graduation, if is should have been given. 
J.L and M.I and their minor daughter K.L v. Mercer Island School District, 
575 F.3d 1025 (9th Cir. 2010).
) (
IS THERE A TRANSITION REQUIREMENT WHEN THE DISABILITY IS AN INCURABLE DIESEASE? 
)
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